Petlife logo

MY LIL CANINE HERO

You can not have Loyalty and devotion without a dog.

By Jewel MedinaPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
1
My family, My best friend, and my everything as well.

Home, What is it? Whether considering it to be someone you know or love, A place, or Yourself. Well, many have their own opinions of the word home. My Home was mostly my Dog Kiara yet she still is as well as my family. My dog is the most loving and kind yet smart and super friendly Chihuahua mix ever. But this is not what I'm here to talk about mainly. Now you see I am here to share a very true memory I went through with her. I had shortened the story but everything here is very real. Like some would say dogs are a man's best friend and I just can't say it any better myself. Anyway, this is a true story that I have kept in for so long only my mom and a few others know but it's time to share my story with the world so it's okay now it's in the past and I am okay to tell it now too because its a story of how I was rescued by my dog, Kiara. My name is Jewel by the way and FYI to this day in my 20's I still am appreciative of my little strong warrior.

On a summer day in the mountains of North Carolina there I was on vacation along with only my Mom and me. Yet I had already had gotten permission to not have a babysitter babysitting me since I was technically 17. Yet where we were was practically located in the middle of nowhere in the countryside near some other homes that were a bit far away. Anyway, we are mainly from the city so we had just wanted some peace and quiet for once. My mom's reason is that she trusted me and I surely did not want to let her down at the time, I just needed to be trusted that I can be alone without partying or something I guess. No matter how old I was or am now I made that vow I would try to be honest and more communicative. So there I was laying outside to get a tan out from the sun while I still could because it was about to rain in the afternoon and while my mom got ready to go out somewhere I mean this was her day where she would spend the whole day too then the next day would be me and her but anyway she was talking on the phone with a spa worker so she can schedule a walk-in of the sort. While getting a tan I heard a noise coming from the woods of the backyard. All I remember that time was I did not think much of it. So I brushed it off and grabbed a book to read from the little white table next to me. As I kept reading I kept thinking if I should let Kiara out of her cage to use the bathroom and by that time Kiara was around 1 in a half years old also I brought her along because mom wanted to not pay double for a dog sitter. So she booked a pet-friendly home so I could at least have company as well. Plus she was gonna pay extra either way even though money was tight. My mom did not want to neglect responsibilities for a dog not to mention she could not find anyone else to help as well. So a little while later my mom left for the whole day at least. Meanwhile, after putting down the book, I walked towards her cage which was upstairs where my room was. I opened it and Kiara started dancing on her two feet when she ran out making me giggle and laugh. I thought it was too cute I instantly put the leash on her and walked her outside with a smile on my face. I took her to the back and to my surprise I got a call from my best friend Skylar who was crying on the phone as I picked up. I had asked what was wrong she just said I am hurt by Spencer because he is breaking up with me I replied with huh then asked Why?" She tells me that it is because of Helen. I was pretty upset with that and was about to tell her it is okay we will get through this together until I heard sounds coming from the forest I told Skylar I will call her back and that it was ok that she has me. I ended my call then and I looked at my dog with a worried expression as my dog kept growling and as the sound kept getting louder. I started to get scared after all it was only me and my dog. I grabbed my things and went into the house and afterward, more than 5 hours had passed and I fell asleep somehow until it was around 7 am. I can not believe I slept the whole day but I think I heard pounding at the door, and what really woke me was Kiara. I started to rub my eyes and yawned as Kiara startled me with a loud bark and a growl. I rolled my eyes and checked the time and it was now 7:40 it was the time I believed I saw. So I got up from the living room couch and where I had slept too. I walked to the door where someone kept knocking. I said alright alright I am coming Ignoring Kiara's gaze I opened the door and to my surprise, I saw a man with a loaded gun was there I gasped and was very fearful. Even so, a call came from the living home phone he looked at the phone intensely and that was then I decided to instantly react though by taking my dog and I ran through the back. I remember as I tried the man yelled no witnesses little girl!" So I had got shot in my leg and my leg was cut and grazed I believe by the shot since it barely missed yet that did not stop me from yelling help and holding on to Kiara. I tried my best and I got to the woods and I was really hurt this time. I was barefoot too so every glass piece every wooden stick was like a dagger every time it was painful. I was lost and yet I did not let the pain stop me yet time passed and 1 day in a half I stood in the forest. I spent there crying thinking maybe he wanted the home to himself or he is looking for me now many thoughts rushed into my head because I did not know my way home I also did not wanna go back in a way. Though while the bullet infected me Kiara suddenly jumped out of my arms barking and I said where are you going!?" I followed her out of curiosity and because she is the only thing I have left and I also did not wanna be alone. So when I did and I was actually fighting to stand and walk but she led me to a river in the mountain forest I was so thirsty and I drank it despite the led will maybe make me kinda sick. So when I did Kiara started running off again and I followed her once more this time she took me to a person's home long while after 30 minutes felt like passed then I believe I saw and where I also heard someone talking between the trees from a far distance. I was relieved and happy and so I kept going and pushing through telling myself a little longer Jewel. I started to feel very dizzy. Kiara kept barking as I got closer to a farm of the sort I said help as I fainted to the ground and blacked out. Yet to my surprise I woke up in a hospital next to my mom who hugged me so tight. Tears rolling down our faces I remember so clearly though because I am a survivor now to this day. I cry though still even while writing this because God was looking out for me and my mom. So far the person who had the gun had gotten caught because someone recognized him I guess that person knows him or something but what do I know though I am just glad to be safe plus that part remains a blur to me anyways in my mom's story she called the cops because all our stuff was practically stolen and she had a missing person alert for me once she found I was missing. But I just feel blessed with such a very amazing, wonderful, and smart dog and mom too yet who I am gratetful for as well. I am so thankful that Kiara was my hero that day I mean I may or may not be here today who knows right? Now I was told that my dog barked so much and ran to a man who was working outside bugging him and out of curiosity too the man had followed my dog to me. When hearing that part I thought to myself I taught her well and that my Kiara is smart. I believe now that the size of a dog doesn't matter because they come in many shapes and sizes but many dogs can also be there for you and they are loyal to the end. My Kiara is older now but still sweet as ever. She will always be My Lil Canine Hero.

Yeah so thanks for hearing my story and God bless you all.

dog
1

About the Creator

Jewel Medina

I believe that writing has always flowed through as a kid and I loved it ever since.

But one piece of advice never give up on whatever your dreams are because whatever it is I just know you are special enough to tell yourself you got this!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.