Petlife logo

My Gift

My relatives and friends have given me many gifts, including cute dolls, beautiful pen bags, and delicate pens

By DelorisPowersPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
My Gift
Photo by Andy Holmes on Unsplash

My relatives and friends have given me many gifts, including cute dolls, beautiful pen bags, and delicate pens ...... but the most unforgettable one is the one given to me by my dad - a small hamster.

On my birthday, my dad gave me a small animal. This is a cute little cute, the whole body yellow and white, touching the smooth soft fur like the oil applied. Its head is like a prominent triangle, a little like the face of a mouse. The eyes are round like two small and delicate black pearls, the nose is pointed, the mouth has thin whiskers on both sides, and the cheeks are bulging really like two candies. Small ears shrugged as half a ball attached to the top. "So cute! Is this a mouse?" I asked my dad happy. Dad said, "This is a little hamster, from now on you have to feed it well, love it well!"

I gently carried the little hamster out and put it in my hand, its four feet immediately stretched straight, and its body spread into a big thin pie. "Ha! Brother, come on, come on, this hamster will be deformed, it becomes a pie!" I excitedly called my brother to see.

At first, the little hamster kept avoiding me and hiding in its own house. It liked melon seeds so much that I fed it with melon seeds every day. As soon as I put a melon seed into the basin, he quickly came over and grabbed it with his front paws, and stuffed it into his mouth. In a moment, the cheeks are stuffed with bulging directly into two small balls. When eating melon seeds, the small mouth always twitches quickly, especially cute. Slowly, it does not hide from me anymore. When I put my hand over it, it will use its little paws to touch my fingers. But the hamster is still shy, every time it eats melon seeds, it will turn around and spit out the shells and never show them to anyone.

The hamster likes running very much, and he is very excited every time he runs. On its treadmill running faster and faster, two small feet up and down alternating rapidly, like a master typist typing on the computer, the circle is turning fast, watching me almost dizzy.

My brother also likes hamsters. We often squatted together to watch the hamster, and never got tired of it for half a day. We bathe the hamster with bath sand every day. As soon as the hamster entered the bath full of sand, it washed up and down, left and right, and then rolled over and rubbed its back, which was very comfortable.

One day my brother and I bathed the hamster, and I suddenly wondered if we should let the hamster take a bath with water like we do so that it would be cleaner. My brother said, "We can try it!" My brother and I prepared a big basin for the hamster, put in a lot of water, put the hamster in it, and then took a lid to cover the hamster so that it could take a bath comfortably. But the hamster was jumping around inside and didn't seem to like it very much.

After the bath, I noticed that the hamster didn't like to eat anymore, and its mouth was no longer bulging with little balls. It kept dropping its head and hiding in the nest, not moving a muscle.

Shortly after, the little hamster died. I was very sad. How could a bath with water make a lively little hamster leave us? My brother stroked my head and said gently, "Actually, we usually just treat the cute hamster as our toy, and never bothered to understand its habits properly, we don't treat it as our friend!"

We dug a hole in the flower bed in front of the house, gently put the hamster into the soil, and with tears in my eyes, I said to the little hamster, "Little hamster, you sleep well!"

The little hamster - that gift of mine - made me deeply understand: to get along closely between people and animals, we also need to have a more careful understanding of animals and deeper care.

hamster
1

About the Creator

DelorisPowers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.