Petlife logo

My Four Legged Best Friend

Rascal, ESA

By Amanda MoirPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Rascal at the Beach in Upstate New York

This story actual begins 8 years ago, on November 3rd, 2012. For weeks I had been searching for a four legged friend to keep me company at home while my soon to be husband worked all day, everyday. I came across a post on Craigslist for free 5 week old Miniature Pinscher Puppies. I reached out and found out there were still puppies left so I set out for a 3 hour drive 3.5 months pregnant to snatch up one of these adorable pups. I get to the persons house and find a sweet little boy. He was so tiny he could fit in the palm of my hand. I was so excited about our new addition to our little family that I drove to the Vet clinic my husband and his sister worked at as groomer/bathers for their mom. I walk into the clinic and introduce this sweet pup to his new dad and "yaya" and Aunt. They were all very happy to see this little pup. Shortly after this the head Veterinarian of the clinic sees him and asks how old he is and I tell him he's 5 weeks old. The vet then tells me that I was misinformed because his eyes just opened which makes him only 3 weeks old and that he should still be suckling on mom. Shocked I ask what I can do for him and am told Goats Milk. We say by to everybody and proceed back home a few hours away then to the store where I pick up some Goats Milk for him. Then proceeds the journey of bottle feeding a puppy every 1.5-2 hours. This poor puppy didn't have his mom to teach him and didn't really have a name for a few weeks either. It wasn't until he was about 5-6 weeks old that he earned his name, Rambunctious Rascal, because he was barking at an empty water bottle. I taught Rascal everything including walking on a leash, wearing a collar, tricks, staying in a crate when I left, and so on and so forth. Fast forward to April of 2013, Rascal welcomed his little Sister to the family. They played and grew together and had tons of fun. About a year later Rascal tore his ACL after slipping on ice in the winter time, and then the other ACL a little over a year later. He became my Emotional Support Animal shortly after that when we realized he was helping my anxiety and depression better than the meds I was taking. Unknowingly, I got him a vest, patches, and special ID Cards and Leashes showing him as my ESA, before I learned none of those things are needed for ESAs. Here we are in 2020 Rascal is my four legged best friend, My comforter, and helper. He is 8 years old now and hard as I try I can't get him to lose weight, he's arthritic, and has hip dysplasia. If none of these things were an issue he could've become my Service Dog. But that's a topic for another story. My best friend and first kid, Rascal, My heart and Soul.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Moir

I go by Mandi, and I love Animals and my family. In my life I've owned a hamster, a rat, 2 cats, an Arabian horse, a Miniature Pinscher, 1 Leopard Gecko, 1 Gargoyle Gecko, 4 Crested Geckos, 8 Bettas, 6 Corydoras Catfish, 7 snails, & a Dane.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.