Petlife logo

My Forever Guardian

This is our story

By EmrysPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

It was nighttime, I remember the sky being dark with shining stars and a bright moon hanging in the background. My family and I were in the kitchen, crowded next to each other looking over pictures of newborn Australian Shepherd puppies as my mom was getting a puppy for her birthday. I was thirteen, just getting to those fun years of trying to figure out myself and the world, a teenager full of dark broodiness who only wanted to hide in her room and read stories.

On that night my dad said “Let’s get another one. Another boy, let’s bring home two brothers.” My mom, brother and I agreed at once. There were two blue merle boys left in the litter and we picked the bigger one. My dad declared that this puppy was going to be his dog, along with Sadie his border collie. I argued back and said no, he will be the family dog. So we started a bet to see. After securing our decision, my dad went outside to enjoy the cool fresh night. Suddenly, a big owl flew over his head and disappeared into the darkness of night. My dad shouted out to us and said it was a sign- that we should name the puppy “Pueo” which is Hawaiian “owl”.

A week later in early December, my mom and I went to our local vet to pick up our puppy boys and bring them home. I remember when I first saw Pueo, he was bigger than his brother I’o, he had a big cute nose, super soft silky fur, a happy smile and a crazy eye with a strike of blue. He came straight into my arms, like he was waiting for me. I cuddled him back, breathing in his warm puppy smell and smiling at the cute noises he made.

It was decided since my room had the only door in the house the boys would sleep with me. That first night we put their dog bed right next to my bed so they could sleep near me, they were pretty tired and went to sleep quickly. I vividly remember this night because I woke up in the middle of it, Pueo was whining and trying to jump up onto my bed. Without thinking I picked up him and I’o and placed them on my bed. Pueo immediately went straight for my side and curled up against me, so did I’o. We went back to sleep all cozy and warm together. They didn’t whine or cry for the rest of the night and when I woke up they were still there snuggling with me.

Now remember the bet I mentioned? Yeah turns out we were both wrong! Over the next few months Pueo grew closer and closer to me. He chose me to be his friend, and Pueo became my baby, my world.

He has been constantly by my side since that first night we brought him home. I got to see the wonder of him growing and how he reacted to the world around him. He loves his toys and he enjoys playing fetch, but likes chasing his brother around like a manic more than bringing the ball back. In Hawaii we had avocado trees on our property and Pueo would eat 1-2 daily, seriously this dog loved avocados like he knew it kept his fur nice, shiny, and soft. Pueo gets scared of loud noises, like thunder and fireworks. Once he ate a part of our truck, the mechanic didn’t believe us at first that a dog could cause so much destruction. Oh but he loves water, if we come across any I will find him swimming peacefully along. Sometimes even drinking and swimming at the same time.

Pueo is a high jumping monster. When he was 1 years old I made a misfit agility course out of brooms and buckets. He slayed it! I wish I had taken him to an actual course as he is such a natural and has so much fun with it. Pueo has been constantly by my side and even goes to my college with me. He is teacher’s pet with a perfect attendance score, is friends with everyone and is the school official mascot. We will be graduating this July together, me and my boy.

During class discussion

Over the years Pueo has been with me through my trials of life. A steady star in my sky to guide through any storm that waits for me. Always shining brightly to bring me happiness and safety when I feel so alone, sad, or scared. Pueo has also taught me a lot about life and love. To forgive, live in the moment, have adventures, be curious, explore new areas and cuddles are the best cures in the world. He loves me at my best and worst, gives me wolfy grins when he is happy, lays in my lap when I'm sad and licks away the saltwater tears of my pain. If I can find a man that would love me half of what Pueo gives me I will be a lucky woman. However, any person I have in life needs to have his approval first in any capacity whether dating or being friends. Because of him he has helped me in coming out of my shell and break that first awkwardness of ice in connecting with people. We have walked this path side by side for almost nine years now, growing and changing together. I can’t wait to see the next chapter in our lives together.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Emrys

Hello there! I am a co-species compassionista who seeks to understand the world around her and create magical filled moments and share them in my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.