Petlife logo

My Feline Friend

Feline Friend

By Shahidah AhmadPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

My Feline

Friend

Dear Diary,

I've asked my parents for years to buy me a pet. They finally said yes. We went to the pet store. It didn't take me long to know which one I wanted. The cutest, tiniest, grey kitten with black stripes and a white belly stood out to me. And he wasn't going to be hard to name since I came up with a name right there on the spot - Spikey.

Dear Diary,

Spikey learned that me and my family were going to love him and take care of him immediately. I snuggle up with him every night now and rub his belly as he rolls over onto his back and claws at my hands and at the air in pleasure. I love him so much.

Dear Diary,

My parents don't let me take Spikey far from the house. "He's too little, right now, Mark," they always tell me. "You never know if someone might snatch him.

So, I play with Spikey right outside in the front yard every day. I watch him paw at the air trying to get the spool of yarn I hold over him. I hold him in my arms and carress him. I place him in a tree so that he can look down from it at everything beneath it. I run and let him chase me and claw at my feet.

Dear Diary,

So much time has passed since I first got my cat; and now he's an adult. We had him neutered. We don't want him to make stray kittens with a female cat in the neighborhood. I often wonder if it's not wrong to do that to them taking away something that is that big a part of their nature.

Dear Diary,

Now, Spikey can run faster and jump higher. He's bigger and you can tell the difference from him and a female cat by the size and shape of his head. I think only male cats have heads that look like his.

My parents are now letting me take him for short walks through the neighborhood. And there's no one in the world that I enjoy taking walks with more than him. No other friendship that I have is greater than my friendship with him.

But I do have other friends - human friends. Many of them live in my neighborhood; and others visit. We love going into the wooded area by my neighborhood. I bring Spikey; and we all enjoy playing with him. We watch him chase quirrels, climb trees, take swims in the river that runs through this wooded area. Once Spikey caught a fish and ate it right in front of us. It was amazing to see him do something like that which is such a profound part of his nature and the nature of where he came from - the wild beasts that cats are bred from.

Dear Diary,

I have never had a friend like my feline friend, Spikey. Nothing has reminded me of the beauty of life and nature more than my friendship with my pet cat. Nothing has filled my heart with more love. Sometimes, I wonder and lament over what it will be like when he's gone; since, cats die way sooner than humans. It depresses me; but my parents told me that that is not the way to think and that I should be looking forward to all the life I will share with him and not his death. They said that that is showing gratitude and promotes a happy life. I look forward to a long lasting life with my feline friend, Spikey. I truly love my feline friend; and I will always cherish our friendship.

THE END

literature
Like

About the Creator

Shahidah Ahmad

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.