Petlife logo

My Cuddle Bug

When She Wants to Be

By Anike AyeniPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

This here is my dog, Princess Nala. Also known as Ping-cess, Toast, Honey Nueller, Squishy, Grub, Bubba, or simply...Nala.

Nicknames aside, she is a very serious pug who loves to play but doesn't love to be touched. Unless it's on her own terms. Let me explain. Nala gets excited when you pet her head and scratch behind her ears. Like any pet. However, if we go to gently play with her paw or cuddle next to her...she either jerks herself away from the point of contact or gets up and leaves the vicinity completely. She loves being around us, don't get her wrong. But ever since she was a puppy, she only liked contact that she welcomed on her own. She isn't a cuddle bug at all. This is why this memory/these memories will always be cherished.

Nala is very good at reading people. She knows who is most likely to spoil her, or who may not be comfortable around animals etc. But the best thing she's good at sensing is when people are sad. In my family, it's rare to catch any of us openly crying in front of anyone. So we usually bury our feeling and go about our day until we absolutely can't anymore. Absolutely NOT HEALTHY, by the way. I've gotten better at expressing my emotions over the years. Since Nala grew up in this atmosphere, she has also picked up on when we aren't our usual selves. And her way of comforting us is by giving us one thing. Cuddles!

I was on a zoom call with my friend talking about some messed-up stuff. Nala got out of her comfy bed (like the one in the cover picture) and decided to lay down on my arm. Every time I moved, she followed. If she couldn't lay on my arm, Nala would lay on my back or nuzzle and lick my face.

My little brother was sad because he was alone for most of the day. Everyone had something to do and he couldn't hang out with his friends because of COVID-19. So Nala kept him company while he watched movies. They are roughly the same age and had a rocky start to their relationship. However, over the years these two have formed a bond over being the youngest members of the family. Sometimes you get "forgotten" being the baby of the family. So she is especially observant of him.

My sister was crying, so Nala used her foot as a pillow. Once this happens you are required BY LAW to not move until she does. I swear she knows this and takes advantage of it. She comforting us but it's so hot!

Yes, she really followed me to the toilet. I tried to secretely cry on the toilet and didn't notice that the door wasn't locked. Next thing I know, princess sat right by my feet. My wet eyes met her concerned ones and she placed a paw on my foot while staring at me.

This little bean basically pushes herself onto you, beside you, and into your personal space in order to calm you down. She will stare at you for a while until she's satisfied that you won't cry anymore, she'll stay by your side. Then it's back to normal, "DON'T TOUCH MEH, BRO!" Nala. We all know each animal has its own personality and that it's important to respect that. However, I just think it's so special when a more standoffish animal shows you its own way of caring for you. Returning the love you give them. I love my little princess!

dog
Like

About the Creator

Anike Ayeni

Hello there!

I am the eldest of 4 children. I love games and horror. My family has an adorable pug named Princess Nala. I love to cook and bake. Who knows what I'll post about~

Follow me on Instagram @mama_koolkat!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.