Petlife logo

My Best Friend

How I Met My Best Friend and Saved Her Life

By Brandi BoldenPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Harley the Corgidor

My best friend's name is Harley. She's a corgi/black lab mix. She's the most amazing being in my life.

I have always been a cat person. I have had cats most of my life since I was scared of dogs for the longest time (one bit me as a child).

It wasn't until last year that I realized what a tremendous impact one tiny little creature, such as a dog, could have on my life.

Here's a little insight on little miss Harley: she's only 10-months-old, she's the friendliest baby on the planet, she would do anything for a belly rub (not the best guard dog honestly), she loves to bask in the sun, and she hops like a bunny (no, really... she had to be a bunny in her past life).

Here's how we met: I used to have this other puppy (a beagle) named Charlie. I took him on walks in our neighborhood almost everyday. It was a hassle because no matter how much training he had, he had too much energy and would NOT listen. (I later adopted him out to another family with energetic children to match his personality.) Well, we were on our usual daily walk and a puppy (Harley) started to follow us. No matter how hard I tried, she wouldn't go back to her home, so I thought "Hey, it's just one big circle. If she hasn't left me by the end, I'll loop around again and take her home." And that's what I did. She followed me home, so I put Charlie in the house and took her home. She was an outdoor pup, so I put her in the yard with the other dogs and left. She didn't once leave my side on our walk. Honestly, I was already in love with her.

Fast forward to the following day: I'm walking Charlie on our usual walk and who do I stumble across? You got it. Harley. Her owner was walking her this time, so we stopped to chat.

Me: Hi, baby! I just saw you yesterday!

Owner: Oh? You did?

Me: Yes, actually. She followed me and wouldn't go home, so I took her on a walk with me and just brought her back since she wouldn't go back on her own.

Owner: Oh! Well, thank you so much. She gets out all the time! I don't know what we are going to do with her. We can't keep her. If we don't find her a home soon, we will have to surrender her.

Me: Oh, please don't! Let me talk to my boyfriend and see if we can take her!

And that's what I did. I called him right after that (he was away on business) and I told him the situation. He could tell I was already in love with her and I wasn't going to let her get surrendered. He told me to go get her and bring her home.

I went to her owner's house and she ran and met me at my car. I picked her up and I've never felt so loved and overjoyed when she licked me in the face. I told her owner I could come back later that week to get her or I could take her now. He let me take her that day.

I took her home and gave her two baths and then one flea bath. I fed her and got her some water. She was honestly so neglected. Her fur was patchy and her ears had scabs on them from the fleas. She was so dirty and so skinny. The other dogs were adults. She had to fight for her food and she didn't get much. Then I took her to PetSmart to pick out a toy and some other things. I had to teach her how to play. She had no idea. She was kind of aggressive and put off by everything at first due to her previous situation. It was hard work.

She followed me everywhere and didn't let me out of her sight. If she was asleep, it was on top of me. I firmly believe that she viewed me as her saving grace. She seemed so happy and joyful. She and I bonded. I mean we communicate with each other as if she's human. She knows what I say and she responds in some way. I suffer from a rare form of depression and if it wasn't for this baby, I don't know where I'd be, if I'd even be alive honestly. She saved my life and I saved hers.

Now 9 months later, she follows me everywhere still, she gets so much love, she plays all the time now, she gets excited for her BarkBox every month, and she greets me at the door every time I come home and begs until I pick her up to kiss her and hug her. We are the best of friends.

If anyone would've told me it was a dog that was going to save my life, I would have never believed them. Now I don't want to know life without my dog. Sometimes I wonder if she understands how much I love her, but I'm sure she wonders if I understand how much she loves me.

I don't know what I did to deserve Harley, but I wouldn't change it.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Brandi Bolden

23 year old Alabama girl living her dreams out in Southern California with her dog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.