Petlife logo

My best decision and experience of my life - Adopting a Cat!

It guards you overnight while you sleep. It keeps you company. My Therapist.

By Miss Miso Published about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Momo Now

A few years ago, I was still working in a corporate job as a Property Manager of one of the big Real Estate companies in my country.

That time it was afternoon. I decided to go downtown. The subdivision I managed was way far from the city proper.

I don’t have a vehicle so I walked a lot to and fro despite the heat outside when in the field. Sometimes it’s so hot and other times the temperature is bearable.

So, in the afternoon I left early from my office. I went outside the subdivision after bidding goodbye to the security guards. I’m walking from the guard posts onto the highway. The entrance was quite a distance away.

There, I heard a ‘meow’ sound. I recognized right away it was a kitten. And then I was baffled that it was not scared of me. Instead it came close. I looked around to see if its mother or siblings were nearby. We were in the middle of the road and I needed to pick it up before any vehicles entered the subdivision.

I was still doubtful if I could bring it home or not. Due to my living situations - I rent out, not enough income to tend to the needs of the kitty as it also grows. If I bring it with me I should take responsibility and take good care of it as much as I can as an owner. That’s what I thought in that moment of uncertainty, worry at the same time excitement.

You see, days prior or was it weeks prior? I watched cat videos on Youtube and even subscribed to a handful of them. I feel in love. I love having a cat of my own as my roommate. Oh, I live alone in my humble boarding house.

Without further ado, since I need to hurry with my scheduled appointment with a client ( why I left early was to get client’s HOA monthly fees before their store closes.

So I picked the kitten up and rode a tricycle and instructed my destination to the driver.

I was unprepared for any carrier for a cat or something, so I just held it in both hands or I let it sit in my lap while we were on the ride. It ‘meows’ all the time so I don’t have a choice in that matter. So I let it be.

This time I have the closer look of the kitten up close. Its fur has a tricolor black-grayish, brownish, and white. She’s a female cat.

Maybe one of the reasons it helped me decide to bring it home was of its color. I remembered that tricolor cats are lucky and I believe it ever since. It might be a superstition but who knows.

As I’ve said I don’t have the tool that I will be using to feed a kitty. It was my first time. I hurriedly watched online of the how-to's and hurried to buy the necessary tools and food for the kitty. It was almost dark and most of the stores were preparing to close for the day.

Fortunately, I bought everything I needed. I was so ecstatic. Bought a syringe minus the needle, and the milk.

Didn’t I mention its age? Apologies, I estimated that time the kitty was 3-4 weeks old. I need to feed her myself using the syringe to let the food into her.

Momo Then

I pretty much manage taking care of the kitty and my day job in the later days.

It was the best decision I made in my life.

Sometimes, living alone in a boarding house and an introvert at that. It soothes my loneliness. I am grateful to my cat until this day.

I love my cat so much although we sometimes have a cat fight lol (not a hard fight). A play gone wrong you see. It stimulates her instinct and plays hard.

I am used to it as time goes by. Having scratched here and there. It rarely happens though and it also heals.

So yeah, that was my first time adopting a cat. Her name is Momo, she has a lot of nicknames from me. I called her momoyaah, moyamoya, yayamomo.. I just jumbled the syllables over haha.

Thank you for reading up to this point. I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoy reminiscing the memories and mixed feelings of the very particular fateful day.

Have a Blessed day!

therapyfeaturecatadoption
Like

About the Creator

Miss Miso

I'm a novice writer. I don't have a Stripe yet (not supported in my country), In the hopes that you may consider supporting my writings.

paypal.me/NoriMeaMiso

Love to hear what you think to improve my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.