Petlife logo

My Animal Family

My 4th-grade story about my family pets.

By Katlyn CampbellPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
The cover of the book

“Such short little lives our pets have to spend with us, and they spend most of it waiting for us to come home each day. It is amazing how much love and laughter they bring into our lives and even how much closer we become with each other because of them.”

-Marley & Me

In an article by Fandango titled, “The best movies that make us cry”, they list the greatest movies guaranteed to bring a tear to your eye. The third movie on that list is Marley & Me. And yes, it precedes Schindler’s List, The Notebook, It’s a Wonderful Life, and Brokeback Mountain.

Movies about animals, especially ones that have the loss of a dog tug at our heartstrings and make us reach for the Kleenex. The minute the movie is over, we go hug our animals as we can’t imagine life without them. Considering I had a dog, Showlow, who looked exactly like Marley I still cry to this day when I watch that movie as I am reminded of all the special moments in my life that happened because of that dog. The people lucky enough to grow up with pets can understand the joy and fulfillment pets bring to our lives, but also the complete heartbreak and devastation when we lose one of our furry friends. Just read Old Yeller, Where the Red Fern Grows, Lassie, Because of Winn-Dixie, or Call of the Wild and these novels will show you the unbreakable bond between a dog and its owner.

“A house is not a home without a pet”

In 4th grade, we had to write a book about any topic we chose, and it was going to be published into a hardback book. I knew right away that my story would be about animals. Pets have been part of my life ever since I was born. We give them middle names, take them on camping trips, let them sleep in our bed, take family photos with them, and even give them presents on Christmas Day. I would bake homemade dog treats, paint pictures of them, decorate their stockings, and make my Christmas list that included jingle balls for the cat, Milk-Bones for the dogs, and carrots for the rabbit. And I’m not joking, my favorite store growing up was PetSmart. I would save up my allowance money to buy them a new collar and leash or surprise them with a toy or treat. They were my whole life, my best friends. My life was better because of them. They helped me through my parents’ divorce and were always there for a cuddle when I needed it.

My watercolor painting: My mom and I walking the dogs, Gracie and Archie: 2004

About the book:

“My Animal Family” is a self-illustrated book about my pets: Bingley, Showlow, Gracie, Archie, Kixy, Precious, and Hammy. I wrote this book from the perspective of my pets, telling their story of how they came to be part of our family. In a short 8 pages, you will meet seven of my childhood pets along with a drawing of them done in colored pencil and marker. Even though it has not won a Caldecott or Newbery Medal, nor has it sold a million copies (just 3 copies to my family), it’s the most personal and cherished book I own.

Even though all my pets in this book have since passed away, this book is a dedication to them and all the wonderful memories they gave me and my family. Having them in my life was a privilege and I can say wholeheartedly, their paw prints are forever on my heart. One cat, Oh Henry, is not featured in this book as we got him after 2004, but he lived a long 17 years before he passed away last year. He was my last childhood pet and on April 23, 2020, I felt like my childhood truly ended. But through this book, I am able to return to my childhood and think of these truly wonderful animals that changed my life for the better.

I encourage children today to write and illustrate their own stories, no matter the topic. Our imaginations as a child run wild and children to me, are the perfect storytellers as their imagination has no bounds. To look back on cute, messy drawings and a story from the perspective of a younger you, brings back a wave of nostalgia. I hope to share this book with my children one day so they can see just how important these pets were in my life. Even though they will never have the chance to meet Bingley, Showlow, Gracie, or Archie, they can read about them and live vicariously through my pictures and drawings.

Chapter 1: Sir Bingley - The Teddy Bear

"Dogs are not our whole lives, but they make our lives whole."

Bingley

Chapter 2: Showlow - The Walmart Puppy

"Happiness is a warm puppy."

Me with Showlow

Chapter 3: Gracie - The Baby

"Just like how butter melts in a hot pan, your heart will melt when a cute puppy takes a nap in your lap."

Gracie, 2003 (left) My stipple art drawing of Gracie (right)

Chapter 4: Archie - Mr. Long Ears

“Bassets Hounds are like potato chips. You can’t have just one.”

Archie, 2003

Chapter 5: Oreo, Kixy, and Precious

"Until one has loved an animal, a part of one's soul remains unawakened."

Me with Precious, 2004

Me with Kixy

Me with Hammy

Photos of my Animal Family:

My sister and I with Bingley, Showlow, Archie, and Gracie; 2003

Gracie and Oh Henry, 2005
Our first day with Showlow
Archie and Gracie, 2003

Bring home baby Gracie, 2003
Showlow and Archie, 2003

Family camping trip with Archie and Gracie, 2003
Me with Showlow, 2003

Me with Archie, Gracie, and Showlow, 2003
Sleeping on the couch on Christmas Eve with Precious
My sister and I with Seagrams, 1998

Bingley and Seagrams, 1998
Showlow and Precious, 2002

Kixy and Gracie, 2003

Kixy, 2003
Showlow and Gracie, 2003

Bingley, Showlow, Archie, and Gracie, 2003

Me with Archie and Showlow, 2004

Showlow and Precious, 2002

Showlow and Archie, 2003

This story is dedicated to all the wonderful pets in your life- past, present, and future.

Oh Henry's pawprint, 2020

dog
1

About the Creator

Katlyn Campbell

Traveler. Teacher. Poet. Writer. Photographer.

Inspired by the places I've called home 🇺🇸🇮🇪🇰🇷🇬🇧🇮🇹🇫🇷

IG: @katlyn.campbell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.