Petlife logo

More than a Best Friend

G

By Valentine CaseyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

When two souls born in the same environment, later find each other in a new state, energies are matched. Sharing the same frequencies and continue as they move forward, they share a path of breaking the ticks that were created by unacknowledged doubted environment. Between social anxiety, attachment tendencies, unconditional love, and forgiveness, these best friends share their story. One can be told to love with conditioned affections, simply catering, as we are told don’t bite the hand that feeds us. I however, saw this story through a different perspective. This was created, by being together for a certain amount of time yes, but knowing they are always there no matter how many faults had occurred, and how many times she had traveled without the Gilda. It is about coming back to each other like nothing has changed. That is the friendship that Gilda and I have. I a 22 year old who has been across the united states, and the soon to be 12 year old Pomeranian poodle partner in crime. My birth place was Atlanta Georgia, but it didn’t take me long to find myself traveling around and ending up in Virginia. At the age of 10 I was told about my aunt having puppies and wanted to know if we would be interested. Hesitant, considering our living conditions, my mom had to make some moves to make it possible. The puppies had been born in July and needed some time with the mother before separation. After receiving pictures, questions came into play. That is not the type of dogs she had had. So where did these puppies come from?

Abandonment. My aunt had found a poodle stranded in the streets. To her surprise it was a dog she was familiar with. Heading towards the destination of the owners, she claims to find their dog. Where she expected to see excitement, she saw disgust.

“Oh no, we don’t want her anymore” they said.

Surprised, my aunt asked why and

they continued with, “she’s a show dog, award after award, you know this.”

My aunt was aware, which is why she thought it was so odd to find her roaming the streets, she then asked “so why is she on the street alone?”

“What once was a blue ribbon baby champion is no longer needed. She’s useless. The neighbors Pomeranian jumped the fence and knocked her up. They’re lucky we aren’t suing them.” They explain.

Shocked in disbelief my aunt takes the pregnant dog home. The mother shortly later gave birth to 5 puppies all with different features and characteristics. All carrying unique values, nothing matched the tone that Gilda had. Energetic, a cuddle buddy, listens well and love tricks. She was the one for me. At first I thought to change her name to raspberry, but I didn’t want to confuse her.

October rolls around and my uncle had driven all the way rom Georgia to Virginia. A 12 hour travel. She came with her light blue bedding, a blanket, and a matching chew toy. I knew we’d get along right away with our love for the color blue. Right off the bat she went everywhere with me. We even hid her in my moms purse while we went grocery shopping. People would stop and say how cute she was and asked to pet her. They loved her too. If we left her in the car she would honk the horn after a certain point to remind us it’s time to go. Unfortunately, leaving her at home did not leave a good impression on the neighbors because she would panic and instead of tearing up the house she would just continue to bark til we came home. The small apartment was not enough room for her and her energy, but it was perfect because I needed to get out of the house too. She’d join me for lacrosse practice, hikes, and more.

When it was time to get up and move again this time I wasn’t alone, I got to bring Gilda with me. Age 11 and barely one, Gilda and I found our way traveling on bus, plane and cars on the way to California to our new home. We shared a different family and a new way of living. The transition was sticky, but we had more room and we had each other. And we still have each other. I’m so thankful for everything she has done for me. My heart forever.

I remember when I hit my lowest point that I had experienced at the time. I would come home and walk past her like she wasn’t there. Her excitement was always there, jumping with joy no matter how long I was gone, and yet I ignored her. I would go straight to my room and continue to sleep my days as she was right by my side. It wasn’t until shortly after I realized her unconditional love she had for me. The way no one else had every done before. I felt so heartless and cold for ignoring her the way I had done so. How could I have done that to her. Lacking excitement the way others had done to me. I remembered how they annoyed and effected me and there I was doing it to Gilda. A flip switched and I found myself showing the same excitement she had for me. And with her love I remembered love, even the love I needed to give myself. That unconditional love. The real love.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Valentine Casey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.