Petlife logo

Mom's Gone

An adventure of Sasha and Sophie

By Kristin Sasha Bear McConnellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

My sister Sophie and I were laying outside in the warm October sun. Trying to be good girls for our mom who was resting after having a heart attack. It had been a very scary couple of days. Our grandma was taking care of us while momma was in the hospital recovering. We were both very worried about our momma, she takes care of us and we missed her a lot. She did come home and while she looked tired and sore we could tell she was feeling a whole lot better. For a few days she just stayed at home and rested but eventually she said she needed to run some errands.

The sliding glass door opened while we were in the back yard so both of us got up to greet momma. She was dressed and looked like she was ready to go somewhere.

"Alright girls go to your room. I have a few errands to run and I need you to stay here while I am away.If you are super good while I am out I will bring you a great treat." We settled in our room and momma went to run her errands.

Sophie couldn't stop pacing though. "Lay down Sophie she won't be gone long like last time."

Sophie looked at me. "Are you sure Sasha? She said she would be gone long that day and she was gone for two whole days. That is a long time in doggie time. It was like 10,000 hours."

I hate to admit it but she was right, even 30 minutes is a long time in doggie time. The other thing is we were both trained to take care of her. I mean we are both service dogs which help her so why would she leave us home. Sissy is very right this is very scary.

"I need to call her to tell her to come get me." Sophie jumped on the bed and was sniffing around her night stand. "Shoot she didn't leave her phone here? Let me check the dresser." Sophie jumps up on the dresser. "No phone but look what she forgot to put away. It's just in reach of a certain labrador. Sissy do you want some too?"

I looked over and saw that she found our bag of treats. "No the last time we got into the treats we ate so many we were both sick for a whole night poor momma didn't get any sleep. Put them back Sophie now!"

Sophie wags her tail. "Come on sissy, we can have just a little bit she will never know."

Sasha sighs in desperation. "Sophie we just got momma home again she needs to rest to get better we can't have her up all night put them back!"

Sophie had already started to open the bag and paused for a moment. "No I have self control I can only eat a few."

Sasha just tucked her nose under paws and just knew momma would be upset but she wasn't going to participate.

A few moments later Sophie stopped chomping down on the treats. "Are you sure that you don't want any Sasha, they are really good."

"I said no sissy."

Sophie nudged a treat over to the side of the bed. "I like the peanut butter ones best. I got one for you. Its right here on the edge of the bed."

Sasha gets up and sniffs. "Its just one right?"

Sophie pushes it closer with her nose. "Yep come on Sash, you won't get sick on just one."

Sasha went and grabbed the treat off the bed. While she was chomping away on the treat Sophie's head pops up. "OH no I think momma just got home! What are we going to do?"

"Quick Sophie grab your stuffy and stand by the door I will try and hide the treats. Keep her distracted.

A few seconds later they hear someone one coming down the hall. The door opens Sophie does her best to distract momma while Sasha tries to hide the treats. But momma already saw that someone had gotten the treats.

"Alright who got up on the dresser and got the treats down?"

Both dogs loook at each other maybe if they don't say anything, she won't get upset. Both girls wag their tails.

"Well since I know that neither will tell on the other I guess that means no special treats for you guys today."

Sophie lays down on the floor and pouts. "Why am I so stubborn, I should have listened to you sissy. I will next time I promise."

Sasha laughs and lays down next to Sophie. "No you won't, you are to stubborn to listen but it's ok. I still loves you just like momma!"

dog
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.