Petlife logo

Molly

A girl's best friend

By Michelle MackenziePublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Molly in the Mountains

My dog Molly is the best part of my day, every day. Every morning starts the same, with my alarm clock going off at about 6:30. I usually hit snooze and roll over for another ten minutes of rest and to cuddle up with Molly. She is always sleeping right next to me, cuddled up just as close as she can possibly be. Sometimes she's rolled up in a ball in the bend of the back side of my knees, sometimes she is sprawled out spooning my back and sometimes I just hold her and pet her belly as she lies on her back, smiling as big as can be.

Molly is always extremely warm; like a small furnace just cranking out the heat and oh so happy in the morning. She is medium in size, the color of gingerbread with a collar of white and a little bit of white on her paws as well. Her sweet little smiling face mixed with her carefree playfulness makes my heart swell with joy.

Every day when I start to get ready for work Molly always tries to stall me. From getting under foot as I attempt to get dressed, to putting my shoes on, or even getting out the door; she stays right under foot and nudges at me, letting me know that she's right there and doesn't want me to leave.

After I make it outside and get in the truck, I wave goodbye to her as she stares at me through the window, from her bed. I always tell her that one day I will be able to work from home, which means I'll be able to be with her all day!

When I arrive home from work park and go inside, Molly's tail is wagging, and she can't contain her excitement. She jumps up while making circles around me as I tell her how wonderful she is and what a good girl she has been. For only being a year and a half old she is very well behaved, never makes any kind of a mess, even when I am not home. I'm so proud of the obedient loving dog she has become.

I never knew I could have such an amazing best friend. Molly is always there for me, whenever I am sad or crying, she lies down next to me and comforts me while resting her head on me or softly licking my hand. She comes up to bed with me every night, cuddles up to me and keeps me warm. She greets me with so much love and brings so much happiness to me every day.

Molly's first Christmas

Words cannot express the amount of pure joy, love and overall happiness that Molly brings into my life. I feel so lucky to have her and I don't know what I would do without her. She has really been so therapeutic for me to be around; she calms me and has a protective energy about her.s I like taking her out in nature, especially to new places or environments. Some of my favorite memories are of her first time going to see a few of the waterfalls in the mountains of North Carolina, canoeing and swimming in the beautiful crystal-clear spring fed rivers of Florida. She looked absolutely adorable in her little doggy life vest as she paddled around. Her first time in the snow was up in central New York and it is something I'll remember forever. We jumped around playing out in the ice cold, kicking up the powdery white snow, just playing and having so much fun enjoying the cold, snow environment. Molly is very curious so watching her investigating this foreign material was comical to say the least.

To anyone who has never had a dog or is leery of getting one, I highly recommend it as long as you have the space, time, energy and love that the dog deserves. Dogs bring a tremendous amount of joy, playfulness, and safety to a home as well as being extremely loyal. In hindsight I am so very thankful we were able to save her when she was just an itty-bitty puppy. The ironic part about all of it is that in the end she kind of saved me, by being the best friend I never knew that I needed.

therapyhumanitydog
1

About the Creator

Michelle Mackenzie

You can find me curled up in my hammock, book in hand, on the crystal clear spring fed rivers. I've always loved to read and write, so I decided to post the things I've written. I'm excited to read your creations as well, I hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.