Petlife logo

Missing

Finding a Way Home

By CarriePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

This story is a mixture of real events happening a few days ago and fictional events I wish turned real.

It was nighttime and since it was the middle of winter it very cold outside. Suddenly, I hear the door open and I am being called. "Gimmy, Gimmy time to come inside." Grandpa steps outside and he has spotted me under the car; got to make a run for it before he gets me. Did I mention I am a kitten about 7 months old? No, well let me introduce myself, my name is Gimlet, but Gimmy for short. I love to explore, and my family would consider me fearless. There is also my brother Ice who by the way is a dog, but I do not let that scare me. He and I like to play and when he least expects it, I pounce on him and he chases me. The rest of my family are humans whom I love them very much.

So here I am running away because I do not want to go inside. I love being outside and exploring since the woods are all around me, there is much to explore. Before I know it, I am surrounded by woods and do not know which way to go to get home. It is cold but going one way will bring me someplace so, I will keep going. I have finally come upon a place, ‘oh look horses and a barn I can get warm in’. It does not look like home so I know I chose the wrong direction, but I can start my mission home in the morning. I do miss my family very much and right about now I would be laying in a nice warm bed with grandpa and possibly Ice. I also missed my nightly ice cream too, but I just wanted to explore how was I supposed to know I would get lost.

Suddenly I hear this voice; "Are you lost little one? A horse barn is not a place for a small kitten like you." "My name is Hootie and this barn is where I stay during the day. Some consider me a barn owl since I have claimed this place." I look up and see an owl looking down at me. Hi Hootie, I say, my name is Gimmy and you asked me if I was lost? I am I do not know the way back home and I know my family is missing me. Can you help me?

"I cannot promise I can get you home Gimmy, but I can do my best to try. Earlier when I was flying around, I heard many voices calling for you. I saw them as well at least 3 different people searching the woods and calling your name. They spent a long time calling for you and looking for you in this cold I know they were worried and missed you terribly." If you know that and saw them then you can help me get home, right? "Gimmy like I said I would try, and I have flown around recently, and I did not see them out calling for you, so I am not sure anymore where to lead you right now. I can check for you tomorrow night and hopefully I can lead you home. As of right now you should get a good night’s sleep." Thank You Hootie I sure hope I can make it home soon. I silently think to myself, when I get home, I am going to show my family how much I missed them and how sorry I am that I made everyone worry so much about me.

Exploring is exciting and something I love to do, but my family means more to me than that and with the help of Hootie I hope to make it home soon.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Carrie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.