Petlife logo

Miss Migi 🐢

The adoption of Migi, my redfoot tortoise!

By Kyra LopezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
"Why does this peasant always bother me when I'm eating?"

Hello! I would like to introduce the Vocal audience to Miss Migi, my redfoot tortoise.

Her story begins in early 2019, when I adopted her from a friend that originally purchased her at a reptile convention. She was the last redfoot left in the clear glass container of a vendor's stand. Unable to avoid her pleading eyes and lovely shell, my friend had decided to make an offer. However, when they came home, they soon realized that this impulse buy wasn't going to be sustainable. In order to give this redfoot a good life, she needed a caring owner with lots of extra time on their hands.

Long story short, I decided to adopt Migi and take her in! Even though I was living in a small apartment with Socrates, I couldn't just leave the poor tort to an unknown future. I had the time, the drive, and I was dedicated to learning more about tortoise care and health!

So, in March of 2019, I officially gained a brand new friend. I got her set-up right next to Socrates and began deciding on a name. Within a few days of her being in my apartment, I came up with Migi.

Where did the name "Migi" come from?

To answer that question, I was inspired by the anime, Parasyte! The main character of Parasyte had an alien attached to his hand, in which he called Migi. Remembering this tidbit from the show, I fell in love with how it sounded and decided to go with that!

Side note: It is pronounced "ME-GE" like the sound of glee without the L

Migi is now turning 4 years old this year, and I've been so grateful to share these past few years with her!

She is quite an interesting tort with a very distinct personality. Sometimes she is a little pushy, scraping away on the floor to get to places she knows she isn't allowed. If the food isn't to her liking, she will glare at you from the food bowl until you replace the meal with something more sophisticated. Naturally, she is not a pushover.

Can I help you?

Taking care of Migi has been a learning experience, as this was my first time managing a species that have origins in rainforests and environments with high humidity. I tried substrate after substrate, figuring out what set-up would work for her! As you can see above from the disgruntled face of the queen, the mix of orchard grass as bedding didn't last too long.

With more research, I got Migi a specific type of humidifier, started to add mangoes on my grocery list as her favorite treats, and continually paid attention to her needs through body language.

Although Socrates has a softer personality than Migi, her way of showing affection doesn't go unnoticed. By spending time with her on the floor, just letting her walk around, I took note of her range of emotions. She was happiest after a bath, being scrubbed on the shell with a tiny toothbrush. But on days where she was a crab, she would stomp around her home and tear up the fake leaves decor. Migi ALWAYS makes her presence clear. She claims she is immortal.

Sometimes, Migi will give me an evil stare if she feels that her enclosure isn't up to her standards.

Im watching you, fool!

Nevertheless, she has tirelessly went along with all of my shenanigans as a tortoise owner.

Exhibit A: The Halloween Photoshoot with Socrates

"Hi....Mom made you look dumb today too?"

Miss Migi carries a powerful attitude, but she is very receptive to my love. Most importantly, she is effortlessly wise. She leads the sacred high council of the tortoise, which is what I call the fantastic trio of torts that I own!

To prove that I am indeed, a crazy tortoise lady, here is the art piece I had commissioned for them:

Art by @nekogeckko on IG

There's not much else I can add about Miss Migi other than how much I appreciate her wonderful smile and vibrant eyes. She is always there to listen, even if she can be a diva.

I am so excited to include her as part of my family, and I can't wait to spend many more years with this wrinkled grouch!

Love you Miss Migi!! ❤️❤️❤️

adoption
2

About the Creator

Kyra Lopez

Writer from the 773

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Kyra Lopez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.