Petlife logo

Misconceptions About Chihuahuas

Things You Didn't Know

By Ada ZubaPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Ai Chihuahua

Stereotypes can be very false or sometimes very true. Sometimes, however, they can be both. So, I have complied a list of stereotypes for chihuahuas and I will tell you which ones to believe:

  1. They're yappy and loud.
  2. They're only purse dogs.
  3. Not much good for the outdoors...
  4. They're basically cats.
  5. They hate everyone and every dog.
  6. They choose one person who they love the most.
  7. They're a girly breed.
  8. Hyperactive.
  9. They think they are bigger than they are.
  10. They have huge egos.
  11. They shake all the time.
  12. They're good for children because they are small.

Okay now that you have read my list, I will let you know if these stereotypes are true or false with an explanation.

Number 1: False. They are very much afraid of barking. My little one only barks if there is someone unknown in the house, if he feels uncomfortable, or if he has to be let in from peeing outside. I know that whenever my dog barks he tends to jump a little because he is afraid of his own bark.

Number 2: False. Chihuahuas can be trained to be in purses and feel comfortable in them. However, my dog hates it because he is not on the ground. He's flying in a purse and he whimpers quite a bit if he is in it. Therefore, not all chihuahuas are meant for purses.

Number 3: False. Chihuahua's can actually walk for a long time. I once met a family while hiking and they told me that their dog goes on all sorts of hikes. Most that the little guy has done were five kilometers and that's actually quite a bit. I have taken my dog on a lot of walks and he has enjoyed them, too. I know they can't stand cold weather, so I do not take him out if the temperature is below zero.

Number 4: False. They need just as much attention and care as a big dog. They need their nails clipped, their baths, and their walks. So, no they are not a cat.

Number 5: False. Not all chihuahuas hate everyone and every dog. It all depends on how they were raised. If they were socialized as puppies they will come up to your dog and say hello. Chihuahuas can be skeptical when meeting new people. For example, my dog will not let anyone new pick him up unless if he immediately likes them.

Number 6: True. They do tend to stick to one person, mostly, but isn't that the same with all dogs? You would think my dog loves me the most, but he loves my sister more. He follows her everywhere until she leaves the house. Then either me or my dad will come next depending on what's going on in the kitchen.

Number 7: False. Anyone can own a chihuahua. (The words "girly" and "manly" also need to be stopped being used.)

Number 8: True. Chihuahuas can have lots of energy. My dog tends to run in circles until he tires out, and then lays down for a quick nap. Naps have been happening more often because he is getting old.

Number 9: False. Chihuahuas are very aware of their size, but they try to be brave. They bark to show that they are there, that you should be aware of them, too.

Number 10: True. Chihuahua's have big egos. Every time he barks at a stranger he will look at me as if to say, "Look at me, I did a good job barking." My dog also has the annoying habit of taking my chair when I leave and then he looks at me like, "What? I have been here all the time, sit on the floor you peasant," and then when asked to move over he moves just a smidge.

Number 11: False. My dog does not shake that often; he only does it if he is nervous or if he feels like he did something bad. It could be because he was trained that way.

Number 12: False. Chihuahuas are one of the worst breeds to get for children. Children have a lot of energy and you need to be patient with them. Chihuahuas do not have patience around children. I always tell children to be gentle and make sure he sniffs your hand. There was an incident where my sister and I took our dog to the park and he snatched at a child who was being too excited.

Now that you have the full list of Chihuahua stereotypes that are not true, you can say that they are fun little dogs to own. They are the best cuddling sleepers in the world.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.