Petlife logo

Mika's First New Family

She's the sweetest thing you'd ever meet!

By Shae ThompsonPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

My boyfriend and I just recently got our dog Mika. Mika was with her owner at the shop (Two Men and A Truck) when my boyfriend had walked up to her and started petting and playing with her. He is really good friends with her previous owner. When he said to his friend if he ever needed to find a good, safe, fun, and loving home for his Mika, we would love to take her in. The previous owner, being super happy to hear that a good friend and his new girlfriend would provide Mika with a good home, was more than happy to let her come and be with us! I guess my boyfriend's friend was going through a rough breakup and it was starting to get hard on him and Mika. He had told my boyfriend that he was just visiting his father before he was going to take her to the animal shelter.

About 30 minutes after we said yes to take in Mika, my boyfriend and his friend were with her. At first, I must admit, I was a little afraid to meet Mrs. Mika. She has had one owner from the beginning of her life until now. I didn't know how she would take being given up to another family. I also thought that she was going to be broader in the chest and taller. When she finally came out of the van, I was surprised that she was shorter and less broad in the chest and shoulders. But my, was she beautiful! The markings on Mika were just beautiful. She came out, tail wagging away! I, of course, instantly fell in love with her!

When we finally got her and her things she came with upstairs, we sat on the balcony and talked about Mika, so we could get to know more about her. We learned that Mika is a Bull mix breed. She has Pitbull, Bull Mastiff, and American Bulldog in her! We sat down with her and noticed she was very calm, loving, outgoing, and loved attention! The best thing to know about her is that she is fully trained and will not attack or eat my collector's items! Which I do have a lot of.

We set Mika up in my small spare room, That's right, my dog has a room to herself! She seemed to have liked the room that we put her in, she just wandered around sniffing all of my collector's items and went and laid in her cage.

My boyfriend and I noticed that she didn't come with a bed, food and water dish, or toys. So after meeting her and spending some time with his friend, we decided we would take her for a walk to the store. Sadly, the pet stores were closed, so we went to the Super Store to grab the things she would need for the night at least. We were told that she was eating a brand made by Purina which is called Apol. I picked her up some along with a food and water dish. Luckily, I have a bunch of throws at home that I made a bed for her out of them. I didn't want her to lay on a plastic bottom of the cage at night.

While out for our walk, we noticed that Mika was pooping a lot, she was having the runs. We must have used about eight bags to clean up after her. I felt bad for the poor girl. I know it takes time to adjust to a new home and owner but I also had a feeling it had to do with the brand of food she was eating.

Once home we fed Mika and then we watched a movie altogether. After the movie, it was time to take Mika out for her last walk of the night before putting her to bed!

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.