Petlife logo

Merry Christmas from Boots

Our rescue kitty is a spoiled and pampered holiday kitty.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Boots

Holiday Boots Emerges

Boots is the kitty I purchased from the local ASPCA in late March after my husband passed away. We kept the name the shelter had given him because his paws do look like he is wearing white boots. His first night with us he was nervous, hissed, and ran under a bed. Slowly but surely he began to come around and has been a blessing. He is one of the family and I cannot imagine life without him. This gray Tabby has a nick on his left ear to indicate that he had been neutered. The idea that hsi testicles were surgically removed is a bit troubling for me but I know it is for the best. Boots is rather large so his outfit was a bit tight. He lay still while in it as if he were imprisoned so after getting a few photos I removed it.

I watch neighborhood cats roaming the streets seeking food and shelter a Boots lounges on chairs and beds. Most nights he climbs in bed with me and sleeps at my feet. When I first got him I was sleeping on the couch and crying myself to sleep every night because I missed my husband, Boots would climb on my chest and begin to purr.

Christmas Kitty is tempermental

If I go to the basement and leave him upstairs he cries at the door. If the grandchildren or my son is heading towards the house he will sense it and go stand at the living room door. Sometimes he will go into a room and sit by himself for hours at a time. I have hesitated to put up a Christmas tree because I know he will gt into it so I'm waiting until closer to the holiday.

Kitty Kitty Boots

I have seen animals wearing holiday outfits and always wondered how the owners got them into it. Boots put up a little resistance but not much. I found this hilarious because he parades through the house as if he is the king of beasts. he does not respond when I call his name or say "Kitty Kitty" but a stray cat does. My neighbor's children call the cat Kelo and if you call his name or say "Here Kitty" he comes running. Kelo will meet me at the car and rub against my legs. Boots ignores me when I come in and he alone chooses when he wants to be loving and friendly. Once in a while when I say "Kitty Kitty Boots he responds but not often.

Scruff Kitty

Boots loves scruffs and will sit for up to 20 minutes if someone will oblige him. He has come such a long way from the frightened uncertain animal that came from the shelter. We don't know how he got there and it really no longer matters. What is important is that he has a large loving family to spoil him every day. He is our big pampered holiday kitty and we love him dearly.

Merry Christmas

When I held him to place him in his holiday outfit I think in that moment he knew I was in control. I wish he would have run around the house in the elf suit but it was a bit snug and I did not want him to be uncomfortable. He did look into the camera and this is his way of wishing everyone a Merry Christmas, Buon Natale, Feliz Navid, Frohe Weinachten, Joyeux Noelle. Be considerate if you decide to put your kitty in a Christmas outfit and make sure there is plenty of wiggle room. Happy Holidays to all pet parents and their pets from Boots.

cat
3

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.