Petlife logo

Meeting My First Two Fur Babies

The Life of a Dog Mom

By Kenzi BrownPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Mac and April

Just a quick introduction! My name is Mackenzie and this is a look into the life of a dog mom! Pictured is Mac and April. Mac is a yellow lab and April is a retriever mix.

My boyfriend introduced me to Mac when one of his friends needed someone to watch him until she would be able to get a place of her own. Me, the dog lover that I am, said of course we can take him until she finds a place to be able to take him back. That was in October of 2019 and she said by November she would be able to come get him. What's a month right? I already have dogs so I know what to do to take care of him and he'd have other dogs to play with. Well November came and she said she would need till December but that she was going to come up to see him for his birthday. I was okay with her visiting him and me keeping him a little longer. Christmas passed then New Years and she quit talking to me. So at this point I told my boyfriend he's ours. I had already fell in love with him and was regretting have to give him back to her, so her ignoring me made it all that much easier to make him fully mine.

In April of 2020 we went and got April from southern Missouri. We got her from an older couple who lived down this road filled with potholes out in the middle of no where. She was so adorable and of course Mac was like "Umm, what is that thing?" He sniffed her up and down like most dogs do when they meet another dog. We didn't pay for her so I was expecting something to be wrong with her. She was covered in ticks, a ton of them. It was a two hour long car ride home and I pulled ticks off her the whole way. Then when we got home, I gave her dewormer and that same day she was pooping out dead worms. We took care of her and babied her just as much as we baby Mac. Mac learned to share with her and see her as a sister not an enemy.

Mac and April are now inseparable. They love doing everything together. Recently she was spayed so they couldn't share a kennel with each other. At first April looked like she felt like a queen. She got extra treats (we had to find a way to hide her medicine) and she got the blanket all to herself. Then after about three days that quickly change and she would cry because Mac wasn't with her. They are like two pees in a pod.

Stay tuned to learn about how we grew into a bigger family!

dog
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.