Petlife logo

Meeting Denali

My Girl, my Friend, my Confidant

By Amy HallPublished about a year ago 3 min read
3

I remember the first time I met my best friend in life and I will cherish that memory forever. I walked into her previous owner’s home and she barked at me timidly, then circled around my person, growling. Her owner, Matthew, said, “Denali, it’s o.k. girl!” Obediently, with her tail between her legs, she walked to the corner of the room and laid down, watching my every move. The humans talked for a while as she laid there in her safe place, watching me, sizing up my intentions within this house.

So, I told him my intentions with Denali. Confessing my severe depression and how I had been off work for a long time, alone and stewing in my misery. I needed a walking buddy; a companion. I mentioned that it had been rough for many years and things were not looking up for me. Matthew wanted to make sure Denali was comfortable with me because she was still loved in their home. I vowed to treat her as though she was my baby and, with gentle arms, I knelt down. I sat on the floor, occasionally inviting her to come see me.

“Come! Love me Denali!” I said warmly while waving my hands to the floor in the spot I wanted her to sit. She looked at me and wagged her tail so violently, her whole body shook. It was almost as though an invisible force was keeping her form coming to see me, however she wanted to so badly. She broke free from her unseen capture and made a break for it.

She whimpered with excitement and ran into my open arms while licking my face. She curled her long, black and brown body around my arm as if to hug me. In that moment, I knew our bond would be unbreakable in the years to come. The unconditional love she already had for me would grow stronger; as would mine for her.

We got into my car with all of her belongings and set out on an incredible adventure that was not yet over. This dog was destined to cross my path and little did I know the gigantic impact she would have on my life. Little did I know, she would eventually save my life.

I got her home to my basement apartment in Calgary, Alberta, and she investigated her new surroundings. She ran around from room to room, sniffing the furniture and carpets with glee. Being used to having a house and being able to go outside whenever she pleased was a challenge at first. She had trouble communicating she needed to use the washroom and would go in the middle of my carpet, look me right in the eye and complete a bowel movement on my floor. I forgave her, and we moved on.

That first night, I got in bed and so did she. I woke up at 3:00 a.m. with a soaking wet face, which became wetter and wetter with each loving lick. She started to cry, and I assumed she missed her previous parent. I held her, and she calmed; we consoled one another.

It has been through her light and her love that I strive to be the best dog Mother that I can be. Soon, I will publish another story on Vocal Media, telling a true story regarding this fine pooch and exactly how she saved my life. She has changed me and made me a better person for this entire world. My mix breed; Black Lab / Coon Hound baby, whom I try to feed the very best food to because I can't imagine my life without her in it. Since the first day we met, Denali and I have been inseparable and we are currently living happily ever after.

adoptionbreedsdogfact or fictionfeaturehealthhumanitypet foodtherapytraining
3

About the Creator

Amy Hall

I have written since a little girl. With love for story telling, I was eager to learn how to write, so I could piolet my own adventures! I finally am pursuing as a career but have no idea where to start! Consider subscribing! Enjoy!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • JoAnn Ryanabout a year ago

    What a sweet story! Glad that you two found each other!

  • Kincaid Jenkinsabout a year ago

    Good stuff. There is nothing in life better than dogs. They ask very little of us and give so much in return.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.