Petlife logo

Meet my dog, Indigo Blue

Know her, and love her like I do

By Josi WaltersPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Indigo Blue at nine weeks

Initially, I did not want her, for at the time she looked plain and, well, unappealing to me. I figured I didn’t need the companionship or extra responsibility.

How wrong I was...

My mom convinced me to take her. At first, she was just a dog I kept in my room in a crate at night. There was no connection between us. She slept in my room, then the next day, I’d take her out and ignore her for the rest of the day (there were other dogs and people in the house so she was occupied and fine).

But as she grew, I noticed she was getting too big for her crate, so I took her out and let her sleep with me on my own bed.

That was when I started realizing how fun and unique she truly was. Every night before sleep, she would lay by my head and lick my neck and ears, then cuddle up against my neck. The next morning, I'd wake up halfway off my pillow because she was laying on it! Whenever she wants a cuddle (or a treat!) she started coming and gently poking my leg with her nose. I began to see her personality coming to the surface. It was easy going for the most part, but she was sure she was born into royalty. She was fine with you brushing her, but if you pulled her skin in the teeny tiniest way, she would act like you were trying to burn her. And sometimes, when I'm calling her (from like, four feet away) she will just look at me like 'Really?' Then I would have to go and pick her up and carry her to where I wanted her.

I never thought I would be spoiling my dog, for we have always had dogs in the house and I never had a problem with not feeding them at the table or giving into their BIG. BROWN. EYES. But here’s the thing-they weren’t MY dogs. It’s a completely different story when they are YOUR dog.

Indigo has developed many beautiful attributes, but one of her most incredible physical features I love about her is that, being a Mi-ki she would normally look like an average toy dog, right? Well Indigo looks almost identical to a Border Collie! Only fun sized!

Indigo at eight months

I started bonding with her after I began to realize how much I needed her-how I needed someone to take care of and love on. Whenever I’d take her out to go to the bathroom, I would roll around on the ground and play with her and talk to her about random stuff.

We became closer and closer. She started relying on me for cuddles, and I her, for comfort. Each morning, when I would reach for her to take her off the bed, she would leap back and bat at my hands with her paws. I, of course, had to play along for a minute before finally making a grab for her. If I’m ever sitting in bed on my phone in the mornings, she would come and rest both front paws on my back as if to say ‘get up! I wanna get up!’

For once, I truly got the meaning of the saying; ‘A dog’s a man’s best friend’.

I honestly do not think I could live without her now that I found out how much I needed something to love.

This girl's staying with me for the rest of her life, that's for sure!

dog
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.