Petlife logo

Lucky Me

I am glad I am a Dog

By Patricia TaylorPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

You may not believe this but I was born in Avon Park, Florida to my mother and I had 7 siblings. I don't have a clue who my father was and my mother never told me who he was. I guess some traveling stranger.

My mother had a hard time trying to feed us so I was often hungry. I soon realized that humans threw trash out on the road and that I could salvage food that way. I often got shouted at as some humans thought that I was the one dragging trash into their yards. I was just eating what I found where I found it but that is life is it not!

When I was only 7 weeks old my tummy was very large, I did not feel well and I was always hungry. One day as I was checking for trash along a major highway a car passed by me but there was no food thrown out so I just ignored it. But then it stopped rather than going on by like most cars do. A lady in the car gave me some food. It was so good! But it upset my stomach and it wasn't long before I had to go to the bathroom. The lady said that I ate too much after being starved for so long. She wasn't mad at me. I was glad of that. She ask me where I lived as if I could tell her. My mother kept running me off anyway as she could not feed all of us. So I guess that I really didn't have a home. I barked and she laughed. She went to a house nearby and talked to the human there. I don't know what she said but she picked me up and put me in her car. I had never been in a car before and I didn't think I liked it.

She took me to a building that had a funny smell; I don't mean in a good way. A human in a white coat put me on a floating thing and said that I weighed 5.5 pounds and that I was 7 weeks old! How did he know that? Anyway he stuck things up my butt. He said I had worms. Ugh! He washed my ears out, and got water all in my ears so I shook my head really hard; dirty water went every where. The walls turned black and so did the clothes of the two humans. They laughed; I was surprised they didn't holler at me. The male human gave the lady some pills for which I took. Believe me I don't want to take that again. My butt was sore before I quit going to the bathroom. I lost 2.5 pounds but they said it was mostly worms. Guess what my stomach was no longer big and I did feel better. The lady said she would keep me. She named me Little Bit. I had to ride in the car again; i still didn't like it even if it did mean that I would go to live with her. I was surprised that she let me stay inside the house with her. I had my own bed but I mostly slept on her bed. She seem to like that and I did too. I like laying against her to sleep. She fed me good food and I was so happy that I didn't have to go through trash anymore. I do like to gnaw on things and she got mad at me for gnawing on the sofa legs. Then she picked me up and told me that she loved me more than the sofa. I may have been Little Bit to her but I felt like I was the luckiest dog in the world. I love my human.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Patricia Taylor

I am an Baldwin county Alabama native who was born before electricity was common in houses and water was from a hand pump on the porch with an outhouse in the back yard.

I am a retired RN with 55+ years of experience. I have stories

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    PTWritten by Patricia Taylor

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.