Petlife logo

Love at first sight

They were always there for you, no matter the circumstances...

By Adarsh Kumar SinghPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Love at first sight
Photo by Marcus Wallis on Unsplash

My association with a pet started when I was around 6 years old. Although most of my student life was in a boarding school, still my days during holidays were the most memorable ones. The credit goes to the furry little Pomeranian (Breed doesn't matter) we had, named Jimmy. Every single day of my holidays, I still cherish because I never felt alone even without no human presence around me most of the time. My bonding with Jimmy was of a friend and a younger brother and this bonding stayed till the end. Those memories still brighten my boring days.

I feel all the pet owners share the same views. Regardless of the fur, feather or fin creatures you choose to love, pets push you to move, cheer you up and make you feel special. Simply put, pets can improve your physical, mental and emotional health immeasurably while helping you become the best version of yourself.

There's still hope in this world

Our pets are a reminder of all the good that is left in the world. They will be with you, no matter what. Even though your friends, family, relatives, and colleagues may leave you in dire situations, but never your pet will leave your side. Your pet will stay with you till the end.

The best companions

I don't think that there can be anyone better than your pet in giving companionship to your kids. This I say from my personal experience. Jimmy has stayed near my bed every single night when I was a kid. She had waited every single day for me to get up so that I can play with her. She had kept me happy every single day of my life. Every single childhood memory that I cherish, I see my beloved pet in that. Even my younger sisters have the same experience to share. They have many more memories with her as they were together always, unlike me because of my boarding life.

On a different note, this pandemic has made us realize the value of love, care and relationships. The void created by losing someone is not easy to fill but pets like Jimmy have been more than a family member to many of us. They have stayed with us during the worst of times.

Pets may not be able to talk back, but we can still talk to them and they will understand many of our words and gestures, as well as our overall body language; and chances are, they will respond accordingly. By seeking the companionship of our pets, we can stop ailments, ward off depression, and add years to our lives.

Our reunion

My reunion with Jimmy used to be an emotional one. For around two months we used to be together. When I say together, I really mean it. We used to get up, eat our food, play around at around the same time.

Every single day

You wake up in the morning and you’re not sure if your day is going to be a good one or a bad one. But the moment you roll over and find a pair of eyes staring at you and a tail-wagging with anticipation – and you can’t help but smile. As you get up to start your day, the excitement builds as your pup sees you grab the leash on your way to the door. He jumps up and down, his body is trembling, and his excitement is barely containable. You have to admit, even before you’ve had your first cup of coffee, pets and their positive energy can have a big impact on how you approach the day.

The sad departure

Can you imagine the anguish and heartache of being separated from a missing beloved pet?

This was the saddest and the most emotional moment for me. Leaving Jimmy and going back to pursue my higher education was the toughest decision that I had to take. It was only because of my younger sisters that I was able to take this decision.

It is very hard for me to even write about the loss of my beloved Jimmy. Many of us share an intense love and bond with our animal companions. For us, a pet is not “just a dog” or “just a cat,” but rather a beloved member of our family, bringing companionship, fun, and joy to our lives.

The sad truth

People often forget that animals are living creatures with actual needs, and taking care of them is a responsibility but also incredibly rewarding.

In spite of all the happiness that they give us, people do the worst of things to them. Harming animals is common in our society. Tens of billions of animals are killed in farms and slaughterhouses every year. This violence can be seen even with respect to our beloved pets who give all the happiness in life and in return we hardly care for them. Humans love animals yet simultaneously perpetrate extreme violence against them. This is not only bad for animals. It’s bad for us too.

So, let us spread happiness and love and live together in harmony.

If you like my work and want to support it, buy me a cup of coffee! For more of my content, check out my other social media platforms.

adoption
2

About the Creator

Adarsh Kumar Singh

Indian Air Force II Manager of Operations @Caliche II Driving Operational Excellence and Business Success II Building an R&D model

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.