Petlife logo

Little turtle

It is a Brazilian tortoise, with a turquoise body, like a piece of emerald. Put it in the goldfish tank,

By VioletHoltPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Little turtle
Photo by HARRY BUGARIN on Unsplash

To meet my desire to have a pet, my mother bought me a small turtle.

It is a Brazilian tortoise, with a turquoise body, like a piece of emerald. Put it in the goldfish tank, its little claws are always scratching restlessly, little head stretched around, a pair of small green bean eyes looking around, full of strong curiosity about the outside world.

The little turtle likes to eat meat, and small white shrimp is it's favorite. When a small shrimp is thrown down, it swallows it by mouth and swallows it by foot, and solves it in three or two clicks. When there is no meat food, it is okay to feed it some noodles, but it will disappoint it and will not touch it until it is very hungry. Every time I feed it, I will watch it there for a while, and over time, it seems to be familiar with my round face with glasses, as soon as I see me, it will face me ingratiatingly, four paws rattling the water, waiting for me to come up with something delicious. Sometimes there is no food, it is so dumb looking at me, I deliberately use my finger to point its head, its head a shrink, but quickly extended, not afraid at all.

The turtle grew bigger and bigger, and the goldfish bowl of loess could not accommodate it anymore, so my mother put it into a plastic pot. But the space is bigger, and the little turtle still seems to be not satisfied, constantly picking the wall of the basin with nails to climb up, climbing even if you can not climb up, sometimes even falling and turning a belly to the sky does not care, turn over and continue to climb. I suddenly felt that the little turtle was too lonely, too lonely, so I let my mother buy another little turtle back. In contrast, the little turtle from the loess plateau became a big turtle. Two turtles together, the little turtle at first a little afraid of the big turtle, shivering "cower" on the side, but later found that the big turtle is not malicious, and soon play together. The most interesting thing is that the little turtle likes to climb on the back of the big turtle, the big turtle does not drive it away, and lets it crawl around, like brothers, a kind of intimate look. But when feeding shrimp food, the big turtle is not polite, always drive the little turtle aside, eat themselves hard eat Mongolian, sometimes even the little turtle bite into the mouth of the shrimp to take over, the most domineering. When the shrimp was all eaten, it stopped, and looked up at me, as if not enough to eat. And I can't help but call it a "stinky bastard", but it doesn't care, still looking at me like cute, so I can't help but laugh out loud.

I love turtles, but if my attention is diverted, such as holding a novel by Jin Yong, or about to final exams, I will not care about them, three or five days without them is common. But I don't worry about it, because Grandma takes good care of them. Grandma feeds them and changes their water on time, and they are very welcoming to Grandma. Grandma said that they are also lives, and since they are raised, they should be raised well. Grandma also told me that when I was very young, my family was afraid that I would be lonely, so we also had two small turtles, and I loved playing with them. Then the turtles got big, and I always like to use my fingers to point to the head of the turtles, the family was afraid that my hand was bitten, so they were released. I don't know how many times my grandmother told me this story of my childhood, and every time I heard it, I felt that my grandmother's love was unconditional and even full of compassion for animals.

But I never thought that one time when I was feeding the turtle with my grandmother, she suddenly asked me, "Will you release this turtle later?"

I was shocked, this is not to let the turtle and I separate! But looking at the turtles climbing hard in the basin, a look of longing for freedom, heart far away, I hesitated for a while, but still made up my mind: "Release them, let them return to nature."

Pounce! The big turtle crawling on the edge of the basin suddenly tumbled down and danced wildly with its claws facing the sky. The baby turtles were also swimming with excitement.

My grandmother and I looked at each other and smiled.

art
Like

About the Creator

VioletHolt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.