Petlife logo

Little Puppy

18 Years & Counting

By Vicky DiMichelePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

I have a tiny dog. Like, a really tiny dog. He is going to be 19 years old in September. I remember his birthday because we share it. It is probably not his real birthday but it is easier to remember this way. He is the biggest pain in the butt but I can’t remember a life without him.

Little puppy came into my life when he was three years old. I remember the day very well because it was one of those days where I thought I was nuts for taking him in. Now, when I say little, I mean 5 pounds. 4.8 pounds if he poops before being weighed at the vet. At the time, I had a really big dog. Cheech was a 130 pound Rottweiler/Black Lab mix so when I was asked to take in Little Puppy, I honestly didn’t think it was going to work. My dog would literally eat him for breakfast.

Little Puppy’s human mom had passed away. Her two daughters each had a Chihuahua as well but their living arrangements would only let them have 1 dog at their apartments. I was his last chance for a home before being taken to the shelter. He obviously would have been adopted pretty quickly like most small dogs but my friends know me well. The black and tan pattern of his fur matched the Rottweiler’s so that was that. The dogs matched, they must be together.

I know that sounds crazy but I always like things to match. My bra matches my underwear; my Chihuahua matches my Rottweiler. Life makes sense. Cheech was curious about this little thing walking around the house. Was it a dog? Was it a squirrel? Will I get yelled at if I sniff it? Why is it humping me?

Then next few days went by without incident and the two of them soon coexisting together. The little one would follow the big one around like a big brother. It was so sweet to see Cheech bark his loud, deep voice at the front door and the little squeak bark standing right behind. They would even eat and drink from the same bowls.

One difference was their love for the dog park. Cheech would run and play with all of the other dogs but Little Puppy would be scared out of his mind. I would hold him and other dogs would get curious and come over to check him out. I would then have a little dog on my shoulder and trying to climb onto my head to get as far away from the others as possible. One afternoon when we were driving home, I was turning right and another car left. I glanced over and they were all laughing hysterically. I glanced behind me and Cheech was panting out of the back window from all the running around while Little Puppy was humping his back leg. I was mortified at the time but now laugh every time I think of that memory of the two.

Throughout the years, Little Puppy has grown a collection of clothes that may rival some human closets. From little blue Ugg boots that he wore once to a vast collection of Halloween costumes, this little guy really knows how to dress. I was in Hawaii and found a little blue Hawaiian shirt in a gift shop. Although the hates it, he became a little celebrity at the vet since Dr. Bob always wore Hawaiian shirts to work. The entire staff was taking pictures of the two to post on various social media accounts. One day when he was wearing a little blue hoodie and taking a long time in the back room, the assistant came out to let me know that the staff was probably starting Little Puppy his own Twitter account.

It took some training on my part and on his but we finally got a routine down and have an understanding between the two of us. I know when he needs more water and when he wants a cookie. He knows when it is time for bed, or at least lets me know when he thinks it is time for bed. He always needs to sleep in the middle; either between two people or just take up the entire center of the bed. I’m still not quite sure how a little 4.8 pound dog takes up so much space but he has it mastered.

There have been so many memories in the years that he has been mine. He sleeps most of the day away in a blankie (claiming almost every one in the house as his). He has lost most of his teeth so can’t keep his tongue in his mouth any more. He has occasional seizures which is common for his breed. He has a cataract in his eye so seeing at night is difficult for him. But even with all of these quirks, I still cannot believe he will be 19 this September. He isn’t slowing down any time soon though. His personality shines through every day and I cannot imagine my life without him by my side.

adoption
2

About the Creator

Vicky DiMichele

Travel blogger, author and wine lover who loves creativity in all aspects of life.

@genxluxetravel & @graphixmgr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.