Petlife logo

Life With Dogs

Specifically for 1st Time Dog Owners

By Dylan PortwoodPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Life With Dogs
Photo by Alexander Cifuentes on Unsplash

What would life be without dogs? Let me tell you; it would be a lot less exciting, a lot less stressful, and a lot less rewarding. You're probably thinking to yourself, "Dylan, man, less stress is a good thing." Think about it for a second. How would life be rewarding if we didn't encounter any stress? Life with no stress would be very uneventful and very boring. Raising kids is stressful, correct? Any responsibility comes with some degree of stress. If you are a dog owner or have any pets, you are likely aware of this. For those who do not or have never owned a pet, keep this in mind as I try to sell you on finding your new best friend!

For those who don't know, I own two Siberian Huskies. My oldest, Brady, is black and white and will turn 3 years old this coming May. That's right! We will be celebrating a good boy's birthday soon! Charlie is grey and white and just had his first birthday before Christmas. My house is filled with puppy energy, and I love every bit of it. I have had them both since they were eight weeks old, and it was one of the best decisions I've ever made. Raising a puppy that young can be a lot of work, especially with Huskies. But I couldn't recommend getting them at that age enough. Creating a bond with a dog while they are at such a young age will lead to a much stronger bond than if you were to get an older dog.

When I first picked up Brady, I was on cloud 9. I had wanted a Husky for as long as I could remember. I was 22 years old, and he was the first pet that I would be solely responsible for. So you can imagine what was going through my mind during this time. I was nervous because I knew of the responsibility that was in store for me, but the excitement outweighed it all. Within the first year, I had several chewed-up books, a damaged desk leg, and tolerated many more instances that tested my patience. But through it all, I learned so much about my dog and about life in general due to the lessons I learned from raising Brady. As he quickly grew, I also grew as a person.

As Brady quickly grew over time, I began to miss his puppy days and the countless "accidents" that happened. I miss teaching him how to behave and what he should and shouldn't do. Now that he is almost 3, his personality is cemented, along with his understanding of right and wrong. Life is a little more peaceful now that he has gotten into the swing of things, but I still miss his baby phase. That first year is really where your bond is formed with your dog, but I strongly urge you not to take that time for granted. It passes in the blink of an eye, and you will always wish they were that age still, despite the hiccups along the road.

Charlie, on the other hand, is just now coming out of that first year. Let me tell you. I have never seen a more rebellious pup in my life! Don't let this alarm you, however. Most dogs go through this phase at some point in their early years, and you can't help but love them anyway! You'll be thankful that those occasional "mess-ups" occurred because those are what reward you with a bond that will ultimately be one of the purest things you ever experience. Trust me... I knew that being a dog owner would provide great joy, but I never imagined it would spark such a positive change in my life. You can thank me later.

If you ever start to wonder if your dog has bonded with you or not, pay close attention to how they act around you and compare it to the way they behave around others. If they aren't as excited to see you when you get home, don't think it's because they don't love you. It's actually the exact opposite. Your dog has noticed your tendencies over time. They will begin to trust that you are coming back when you leave. Just because they don't act overly excited doesn't mean that they aren't happy to see you, so show them some love!

As time goes on, your dog imprints on you. In essence, this means that you become your dog's "person." They will look to you to protect them and fulfill their every need. To give you an example of what this may look like in your dog's behavior, Brady and I went to the park one day, and there was a rather aggressive dog there with his owner. The dog wasn't mean, but he was obviously trying to test his dominance with every dog. Keep in mind, Brady is not a wimp, but he will submit if there isn't a need to defend himself outright. The other dog kept trying to pin Brady to the ground, and I could tell that Brady wasn't enjoying it. Finally, Brady stood his ground and barked at the dog in his "mean voice," then he stood right behind me. It was as if Brady was telling me to handle the situation. Your dog's instinct is to run to you when they need something, so appreciate that something so kind-hearted and beautiful accepts you exactly as you are and puts their trust in you. Dog's really are man's best friend.

If I were to share everything I know about owning dogs and what I have learned, this post would be a book. Who knows, maybe that'll happen one day... So, what are you waiting for? Find your new best friend! Your life will never be the same in the best way possible!

dog
Like

About the Creator

Dylan Portwood

If there were a college program that allowed me to double major in nerd-culture and dogs, then I would've probably had a PHD by the time I turned 20!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.