Petlife logo

Life With A Siberian Husky

A brief outlook on my Husky and what we have discovered that you don't get told about in the books.

By Amber TermundePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Odin is a Siberian Husky he is also my families emotional support animal and I am going to tell you what my family and I have discovered thru our time of having him.

Odin is 8 months old he weighs about 65 maybe 70 lbs and is past my knee in height we have had him since he was 5 weeks old he is a loving dog and does his job when he needs to.

You see he was gotten as an anniversary gift my mom my brother and I got him mainly for her because as of 10 months ago our dad and her husband of 35 and a half years passed away he was sick for ten years and passed away ten days before Christmas.

My brother and I decided that having a dog would help my mom cope with the large loss we had just had now here's where the title comes in you see we my brother and I have been doing research on Siberian Huskies for quit some time now and with everything we read we thought we were prepared for one but boy were we wrong.

You see the books prepare you for the training but really don't prepare you for the bath time when you half to fight them to maybe get a bath or shower they prepare you for the playful biting that they do but they don't prepare you for the pinching they do and the bruises that they leave behind.

They don't prepare you for the food aggression they tend to get especially the males of this breed and yes they call it food aggression but it only ever happens when they have something they know there not supposed to have and the end result we found out is hands that get torn up and bruised.

These are just some of what they don't tell you and you know I wish I had read about all of this before we got Odin because yes we still would have gotten him but we would have been better prepared for his attitude Odin is the best thing that has happened to this family since my dad passed away he makes it easier to get up every day and yes he has his flaws but don't all dogs or even cats for that matter?

I am very proud to say that my family and I own a Siberian Husky who is very large very friendly and very strong we wouldn't change alot about him just a few things like he takes three giant walks a day and even thou he is tired after his last walk at bedtime if what were watching he doesn't like he throws an attitude with you so badly that you end up with multiple bruises.

To follow up to that here is what I mean last night he went for his final walk at 8 at night and we got back around 9 and he was fall down tired but we were watching food network normally we watch hallmark and he goes to sleep to that but the Christmas movies are now on there day and night so we kept it on food network that made him angry very angry and the longer he stayed awake the angrier he got so around 11 last night I decided you know what maybe it really does half to do with what were watching so I switched it from tv to the blue ray player to watch first wives club guess what?

The minute the movie started he passed out hard core and that is what we as a family wish we knew before we got him and that is because he is such a picky puppy we love him and yes there are a few things I wish would change in him heck we all wish would change in him and with any luck by the time he's reaches a year he will calm down more than he has since we got him fixed and we will see these changes.

I will be putting more up about Odin and my family and what life is like for my family and I since we lost my dad I hope that I reach people and maybe help someone that is dealing with a Husky or a Lab I know both breeds and maybe even help those that are dealing with a recent loss in the family have a great day and I hope you enjoyed this.

breeds
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.