Petlife logo

Life Unleashed with Trolley

By: Meghan Harrison

By Meghan HarrisonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The look he gives me when he wants to be pet.

Yes, his name is Trolley and no I did not name him that. He came with that name; he was found near the trolley in Tempe, Arizona. He was just one year old when I rescued him, a Cattle Dog and Pit mix. Oh, and he was missing a tooth. In other words, the cutest dog in the world! I was a senior at Arizona State University, living with my boyfriend at the time and he was against getting a dog since it’s a lot of responsibility with us still in school. But when I saw Trolley’s sweet face on the Phoenix humane society website, I called immediately to rescue him.

My boyfriend at the time may not have wanted me to get a dog but thank God I did because soon after I rescued Trolley me and my ex split up. It was one of those break ups everyone goes through at least once in their life where it feels like the world is ending. I didn’t even want to leave my apartment and hang out with friends. But Trolley definitely made me hang out with him. If I didn’t have Trolley, I don’t know what I’d have done at that time. He’s so goofy, if he sees me cry, he barks at me which makes me laugh instead. He truly rescued me during that time and continued to many hard times after that.

Trolley quickly became my hiking buddy, road trip buddy, work out buddy, even work buddy sometimes. I remember when I started dating again, I wouldn’t let any guy meet Trolley unless I was really sure I liked him. Just like any good single dog mom would do! After I graduated from ASU, Trolley and I moved to Florida where I started my career in Environmental Science. This field of work requires a lot of traveling, so of course Trolley would come on all my work trips. I’m pretty sure he’s stayed in more hotels than any other dog. My friends started calling him Mr. Fancy Paws.

Thinking back on all the career moves I’ve made to new cities over the years, I don’t know that I would have done them if I didn’t have Trolley. Not only is he great company, but he’s also my bodyguard. And talk about loyal! I know everyone says their dog is their best friend and loyal, but Trolley is on another level. I remember the first time I had to leave Trolley on work trip. I had to fly out of town this time, so I got a sitter to stay with him. She would text me that he would only come out from under the bed to eat and go potty. Other than that, he stayed there until I got home. So, the next time I had to leave him I got my sister to stay with him, thinking he’d be less sad since he loved my sister, and the same thing happened. So ridiculous, but I couldn't be annoyed with him he’s just so attached to me. Thankfully now I bring him to a dog boarding place when I’m out of town, where he can play with other dogs. But even now when I pick him up, he races out of there like he was held hostage or something, haha.

Flash forward five years and Trolley still isn’t out of his puppy phase. He’s still just as goofy and fun as the day I rescued him. It’s crazy to think that most of my memories I’ve made over the years of places I’ve traveled to, relationships, big moves and so much more, all have Trolley in them. And I can’t wait to make many more!

dog
Like

About the Creator

Meghan Harrison

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.