Petlife logo

Lessons I've learned from dogs I've loved

and there have been a lot

By ec from clePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
He's only 5 months old and already rocking the Instagram game @heyitsslate

I have had dogs my entire life (minus a dark stage that lasted 3 years between my first and second dogs). I grew up with them in my house, in my friends’ houses, in my family members houses. As a child, my best friend and I knew which houses in the neighborhood had dogs and visited them frequently to walk their dogs- not for money- just because we wanted to (before you ask- yes, are STILL kicking ourselves today that we weren’t the ones to come up with Wag & Rover) and when people would ask what my favorite smell was I, confidently and without hesitation, would answer “wet dogs”. After college, I had a job at a doggy daycare (truly a dream come true), and then jumped on the Wag bandwagon as a dog walker, not to mention a word-of-mouth pet sitter/dog walker, and my parents’ permanent dog sitter.

So I guess you could probably infer that I am a massive dog lover- and you’d be 100% right! I can’t get enough of their wiggly butts, no matter their age, breed, or size! Sure, I have my preferences- hounds stole my heart at a very young age since my first pup was a beagle, I am partial to brachycephalics (see: smooshy-faced love bugs like Boston terriers, bulldogs, boxers) thanks to my family’s next two dogs, and I always had the tendency to gravitate towards labs (which was further instilled by pretty much every lab I ever met- but especially two exceptional yellow labs I grew up around)- but, no dog is left behind in my book. Even the little fluffy yip-yappers that I could take or leave; I won’t leave without at least giving them a few ear scratches!

But beyond the infinite puppy-dog hound eyes, snorts from the squishy-facers, and endless kisses and lethal tail wags from the labs- the thing I absolutely love the most about dogs is their endless supply of lessons they deliver- you just have to pay attention. In case you weren’t, here are my top 3 I’ve learned through the eyes of dogs I’ve been lucky enough to meet & love.

1. Always be ready. Car ride? Walk? Adventure? Outside? I’M ALL IN. No matter where the car ride is to, how long or short the walk or adventure might be, or if we are just taking some time to get fresh air outside- the dogs are always ready to partake. They are not only here for spontaneity, but their enthusiasm for it is contagious, not to mention their can-do attitude. Going outside your comfort zone? It’s alright, we’ll do it together.

2. Love hard and often. Whether it’s running full speed ahead for a bear (ahem, dog) hug, good morning kisses, that full-body wiggle/tail wag combo when you walk through the door, or calm snuggles when you both need it the most- that love is real, unconditional, and all the way turned up. Even you yelled at them earlier in the day- they’ve completely moved on, forgave you, and are ready to love you all over again. If we could take one page from these pups, I really think this one should be it. Love without limits, be kind, be there for each other- after all, we all need a cuddle every now and then.

3. We all make mistakes. It happens from time to time- I don’t care if you’re a young pup or seasoned veteran- mistakes happen. Whether it’s an accident, being too loud, snapping at a friend, or taking off when you’re just supposed to stay still… at the end of the day- they’re all forgivable. As humans, we forget this often and are too hard on ourselves when our “accidents” rear their ugly head. From now on, let’s follow in the canine lead and let that shit go.

The bottom line, my friends, is not only are dogs sweet baby Earth angels, but they’re here to show us the good that is right in front of our faces. They’re here to make us laugh, take us out of our own headspace if even just for a minute or two. Not to mention the fact that they are the consistent companion- the one who comes with zero judgement (more times than not) – that we all knew we needed.

So go ahead, grab a snack for yourself and your furry pal (because after all, there’s no such thing as too many treats), find the perfect spot to cuddle up together and love on that little wealth of knowledge in canine form.

- ec.from.cle

(Follow me on Instagram @ec.from.cle)

((Yeah, my dog also has an Instagram, because I’m THAT person. @Heyitsslate)

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.