Petlife logo

Kitty

Yes, I call my dog “Kitty.”

By Dooney LateesePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

When you move around the world with someone or something for 15 years, you never settle down enough to call a house a home. You find your home in that someone or something that has never left your side. Well, that was my “Kitty.” A couple of countries and a few states later I had to say, goodbye. I thought to myself, how can I honor and represent such a beautiful soul I hold dear to my heart? Do I plant a tree? Do I shout her name from rooftops? Do I tell every stranger I meet her name? I can, but that won’t actually show her to the world. When I walk into a room, I’d like people to understand, what she means to me. That when you see me, you see her. Then, I decided to get a tattoo of her face. I walked into the tattoo shop and I was set on what I wanted. I wanted half her face with various colors while the other half black and white. I told the artist I wanted it small on my forearm. He immediately jumped up and told me, “ You have to make it big! This was your baby!” I never considered getting a big tattoo on my shoulder. It was never appealing to me but, in that very moment, I remembered, “when you see me, you see her.” I jumped up with him and shouted, yes! People always wonder why I got her face half colored. One side of her face is black and white because that is how the world saw her. She was just a regular dog, nothing too special. I got the other side of her face in different colors because that is how I saw her. Colorful and full of life! I know I made the right decision and honored her well due to the number of complements I get from strangers. People always stare at my tattoo of her. She is a conversation starter. That is truly what I wished for. When you love someone or something, you want the opportunity to talk about them and praise them any chance you get. You want to explore the funny stories and keep the memory alive. Now they ask her name. Now they want to know who she is and what she means to me. I don’t have to say a word because when you see me, you see her. She will never be forgotten. She will never be just any dog. She will always be by my side. It has been five years since her passing. I had her in my life since I was six years old until I twenty years old. She was seen everyday, talked to everyday, played with, loved and just there until one day she wasn’t. The last thing I wanted was for it to all disappear. For no one to know such a strong presence in my life seemed unreal. She was just a dog. I did not know how to explain to others that she helped mold me as a person. As time goes on, I have the previlage to brag about her and relive her memory through art! Who would have thought? Who would have thought that I’d be walking into rooms, and my dog, who was once just a dog, would grab strangers attention. She is no longer here, but then again she is, because I am here. When you see me, you see her.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Dooney Lateese

We’re all just souls, walking each other home.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.