Petlife logo

Kisses, Cuddles, Belly Rubs

Foxie's Story

By Emily EdwardsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

About 5 years ago, we adopted a dog. She is a timid, yet sweet old fart, but her puppy came out after she warmed up to us. Her coat, although graying in spots, is a beautiful dark gold. Heck, she looks like a fox in dog form. Even down to the fluffy tail. Which is the main reason she’s named foxie, Not mini Millie, that was the name she had before we got her.

She is shy by nature. She is a long-haired chihuahua, after all. It seems to be a tale tail trait of these little ones. But her background makes her history very depressing. Long before we met her., she was in an abusive family situation. While it was typical, it was atypical as well. I can imagine what the poor thing went thru in that home. It was not fun and games. The neighbor told us that her previous owners not only abused her but used their other animals to do it as well. So it was no surprise that when I put her down, she huddled behind me. 

 I will never forget her first vacation with us. We took her to a dried-up lakebed in Wyoming. It was still slightly muddy from an early rainfall. We had Arrow, my in-laws dog, and two other dogs with us. The moment I put her down, she huddled behind me. Although I will admit, it was cute. It wasn’t what I wanted. 

But at that moment, I did something I don’t regret. I stepped away from her. She shivered and let out a tiny whimper. I even nudged her towards the dogs in the distance. She looked at me, intimidated. Caleb and I smiled and encouraged her. It was like a light bulb clicked. Or the dark clouds parted in her mind. I don’t know what happened. All I know is one minute she was shyly standing there. And the next, she was racing across the lake bed to play with the other dogs. It seemed as if she willingly unlocked a part of herself.

I may read too much into it. You would have joined us in laughing. It was fantastic to see this tiny dot of a thing playing with dogs twice to even three times her size. We are talking about a boxer Staffordshire terrier mix and a few german shepherd mixes. So none of her size. But she was playing and getting dirty with the best of them. She was so muddy when we got back to the car, and we sent her to the back. But it was worth it.

She was panting in happiness, along with Arrow. I swear, after that point, it was like she was a different dog. I mean the polar opposite. She would hang out with the other dogs. Sit on other laps, instead of mine. I won’t deny that it hurt a little. But dang, was I proud of her and happy that she took that step. When we got home from that trip, everyone noticed—even the upstairs neighbor who gave her to us.

It was true, so true. He was walking her and another dog in from the park behind our house one day. And she ran to me, jumped into my lap even. That is basically how she became adopted. Simple and super sweet, not to mention free. At first, I won’t deny it was a struggle. My husband and I were newlywed. We had just gotten married ten months prior. I was working at the time.

So, in the beginning, she spent most of the time with Caleb. Yet another hurdle she had to overcome quickly. It wasn’t until later that I found out that most men abused her. Still, to this day, she has a hard time with any guy she comes across. At least now she will tolerate the pets and treats. But at least that is an improvement. I feel fortunate to have her.

My hope for her is to accept the other people in her life totally despite being attached to me. And to stop barking at everything that happens or moves. It gets so annoying; she even has barked at sunlight peeping thru windows. But at least I know if there are any animals outside of our house. This is where treats come in handy, I guess. Training is very hard at her age. It also doesn’t help that nobody agrees. So basically, she knows so many names for the same action. I will say, though. I love she knows sign language. Well, some of it. I love most about her, though, because she is coming to be such a tremendous emotional support type of dog. Well, most of the time. 

She is the reason I wake up in the mornings on my worst days. And when my depression hits the hardest. And I feel like the world is caving in on me. She either does something funny to get me to laugh. Or snuggle on my lap to comfort me. Until we got her, I never realized just how much I depend on that. She has come into her own. It’s so comforting. She truly embodies the phrase of emotional support animal. 

In her unique way, she reminds me daily of a few essential things. To not stress over the little things, and not everything is worth it. And also, it is okay not to control every aspect of your life. No matter what curve balls life throws you. Keep swinging and moving on. Like oil on a duck’s back. Even when it seems to be the hardest thing ever. We can all learn a lot from the animals and people around us. Both physically and spiritually, even emotionally.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Emily Edwards

Hi everyone. I live on a farm in the wonderful state of colorado, usa. When i am not working on said farm. I am writing to my hearts content. I love sharing it with everyone. I have always believed that every person has a inner story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.