Petlife logo

Kenny My Pup!

How you fell in love with your dad

By Christine HarrisPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Kenny Vizinho

When I was young, we always had animals around in our house. I don't remember a time where we didn't have at least four animals in the house. Since I was 12, I haven't gotten close to any animals in my house. I have my moments where I think they're cute and I'll give them pettings, but they never really struck a chord with my heart. That was till my husband and I met our current pup, Kenny.

The first day we met

Dear Kenny,

I remember the day we met you. We had been looking for a new family member for awhile. Your dad had fallen in love with a Lab/Retriever mix that was down the hall from you. Dad thought your picture online didn't suit you properly.

I had a meeting in Hamilton that day so I dropped your dad off thinking he'd call to tell me about Bear (the Lab/Retriever Mix). Instead, he called telling me to come back as soon as possible. He'd fallen in love. When the meeting was over, I drove back to the Hamilton/Burlington SPCA to see what all the excitement was about.

I walked into the building being greeted by your dad. He told me as I dropped him off that morning, Bear had found his forever home and was just leaving as I walked in. Needless to say, your dad was heartbroken that the dog he wanted wasn't going home with him. However, he got excited again saying how he'd found another dog. We walked over to your kennel.

The window was covered in blood. Your tail whipping back and forth with excitement, getting more and more blood on the window. I wasn't overly excited. I peered past you to see a bulldog in the kennel behind you and dragged your dad around the corner to see him. I'd been wanting a bulldog since I was a little girl, however this one was a little older and was an overly aggressive bulldog that wasn't good with other dogs. That wasn't going to work for us, but I still wanted to see him.

As we looked through the window at the bulldog, your dad could see you in your kennel across the way. You had stopped watching the people who were looking at you and were peering through the cage door at us. We could hear you whimpering for us to come back. My heart melted. We met you in person.

You were such a good boy

Needless to say, your dad fell in love more. We had two other dogs at the house since we lived with my grandparents at the time. Since the SPCA was closing for the day, we went back the next day with my grandparents, and their two dogs, to see if you all would get along. You got along, about as good as the dogs would let you, though you tried to make friends. My grandparents, now your great grandparents, fell in love you and insisted we bring you home. When I got home from work that day, I was bombarded by pictures of your trip home. You were so cute, and I found out you love making yourself right at home.

Ride home with your new dad
Your first night at your new house

You learned to make friends quickly between other dogs in the family and the dog park in town. You even became quick friends with those who came to the house. Everyone who met you became your friends and said how pretty of a boy you were.

Helping us paint the new apartment

Within a few months, we were moving into a bigger apartment, with a big backyard for our pup. Your dad and I were painting the bedroom when you picked up a brush and wanted to help. You surprised me with your excitement about the new apartment.

Your 2nd birthday

We've had you for two years now. We've celebrated a lot of firsts with you, making us feel like normal parents. We've also had a lot of bad moments giving you grief for all the trouble you've caused. Since we've got you, we've lost your bed, a whole bunch of toys, your dads glasses, three remotes for the tv and several other things (luckily no furniture). You've driven us up walls more times than I can count, but I realize I wouldn't change a thing about the time we've shared. Someone recently reminded me that pets are just like children. They cause trouble but they are memories that we cherish. I'm excited for all the moments we will continue to share over the next several years of your life.

I worried about getting a dog from the SPCA over buying a newborn, just because you never know what you're going to get, and we definitely weren't experienced with aggressive dogs. Though I will say we found a dog that gives us as much love as we give him. I would recommend adoption any day over newborns, just because they deserve as much love as everyone else. Sometimes, it is the worse reason they end up there and normally at no fault of their own. We never fully understood how you got there Kenny, but we're so glad we can be your Forever Home.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Christine Harris

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.