Petlife logo

Keeping Promises

Hoofprints In My heart.

By Allison LevyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Wise Old Legacy staring off into the sunset.

Do you believe in magic? I work primarily with special needs animals,each one of them influencing my heart, and my walk on earth in this life. I absolutely know that the creatures who come into my life are ones that have chosen me specifically to gift me with there wisdom. They have touched my heart, and soul, and have allowed me to have the most beautiful dreams.

For the Longest time I had a feeling there would be several horses needing help and sure enough I saw a flier looking for a barn manager of two horses. I pulled the flier and within a few weeks and several phone calls later I met both Lady and Legacy who would prove to be the loves of my life. Lady a fiery red mare and Legacy a middle aged man trapped into an old man's body. Both wild nervous and a bit unkempt. Even as a professional handler I was not sure if I would have the skill set to help these horses but something inside short of a whisper said to at least try.

These horses were special and I would soon come to learn that as time went on. The owner of the horses a kind and beautiful soul himself hired me as he could not get to the barn because of health issues and these horses , there purpose was to bring him light, love, and comfort. It is so easy to pass judgment, but the love he had for these horses not only provided me with a stable job but the ability to turn the life of his beloved horses around.

Even with all this great new care I felt there was something very wrong with Legacy. He was underweight and was rocking back and forth, which is a sign of laminitis. Laminitis is also a sign of cushions. I had the vet test him and sure enough he tested a high positive. It was at that moment I made a promise to these two horses they would always have a safe place to land and they would always be cared for.

Soon enough we got Legacy on proper medication, diet, pain medication, and I always made sure he had a hospital bed at night. Rehabilitation is just a fancy expression for seeing into the soul of someone in need. The first step in healing is not only proper care but making someone feel that they matter, they are important, and they are safe. From caring for there habitat to grooming and good feed these horses began to shine, but more importantly they began to trust.

As the years went on change was coming and soon enough I learned that the owner could no longer afford to keep the horses. Trying not to show my worry to the horses I let them know they would be cared for they would be loved and everything wold be alright. I could also feel that Legacy was ready to leave his body. I knew he would not be able to let go being so protective of Lady so I made him yet another promise I told him I would always look out for Lady. He passed away within a few months of this promise.

To this day I still have Lady. I just couldn't let her go. She had only known one home her entire life, and with the loss of Legacy I couldn't let her down. The words we say the commitments we make have power, and meaning. It is also a form of wisdom following through on the words we say and actions we follow.

I feel blessed for these beautiful creatures to have come into my life. I am so honored they chose to walk with me on this journey and help me on my path in life. I can still feel Legacy's hoof prints running through the field and I know somewhere he is running through a cloud looking through a beautiful sunset. Thank you Legacy for sharing that time with me, for choosing me, and for giving me the confidence to always keep my word.

horse
1

About the Creator

Allison Levy

Thank you for taking the time to visit with me and read my stories. My life's work is taking care of family pets in need of mental and physical rehabilitation. These creatures have inspired many if not all of my life long goals today.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.