Petlife logo

It's Time

A Short Story about a cat who dies and goes to heaven

By Rhea CampPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
It's Time
Photo by Karina Vorozheeva on Unsplash

It's time. It's time to say goodbye to the world for the day, as I can sense the end is near. My lungs feel deflated; I'm only 15 years old. I walked through the house, remembering my bay window. As I sat in my bay window, I looked to the skies. I can feel their gazes of pride as they look down at me. I know I've made them proud of me. I turn around to see the family portrait of my family. Those were the simple days. Running around with my girl, Samantha, feeling the warm touch she gave when she found me, fighting for my life.

I was found in a city, dreadfully pushing against a heavy current. A flood had started in the old town, people running around trying to find their loved ones. I was still left behind. I shuddered to remember how cold I had felt. It was freezing as I felt myself drowning, the waters rapidly pushing me underneath. When they grabbed me from the water, they transported me to a vehicle. The vehicle was big, more significant than my body. It looked long, white and with a logo on the side. I was too sickly to see what it was. I fell asleep as soon as the warm air hit me. It's time.

As I woke up from the slumber I was in, I could see bright lights in a room. It was very pale, the room looking white. The place they took me to had posters all over the room. I was still freezing, but I felt the warmth as they turned on this blanket that radiated heat. I remember being taken to a cage, people walking around as they looked at other things. That's when Samantha found me. "Daddy, can we get a cat? It's almost my birthday!" She exclaimed, coming over to the cages. I meowed to get her attention. She saw me and started to pet me. I could then see that my life would change forever as I began to come back from my daydream. It's almost time.

I could sense my body giving out as I ventured to find Samantha. When she got me, she was only 10. Now she's 24 and moving out to go to college. Her mom suggested having me stay here, knowing the state of my condition. I saw the envelope of her acceptance letter on the kitchen table. My mind went to another memory, reminding me that it's almost time.

I remember about two months ago when she first got the letter. How excited she got when she opened the envelope. She ran around the house, showing everyone her letter. I could feel joy as she walked back to her room, where I was resting that day. Those days were long ahead before I realized the point I had missed in my entire life. Love is what matters! I'm running out of time.

I finally find her, laying in bed on her phone. I jumped up onto the bed and curled up on the corner. I felt her warm hands pick me up, setting me back down gently in front of her. My meow was suddenly a croak. I could no longer speak. Samantha cried as I put my snout to hers. I wish I had understood. I wish my time were no longer up, and I wish I had another moment. God has his plans, though, doesn't he? I could feel my heart slowly stopping. Please remember me as I was, Samantha. Please remember me as your precious boy...

Time's Up...

I woke feeling lighter. White, fluffy clouds around me, other cats playing and running around. Some cats sat on an unlit bridge, making me feel lost. This is not my home. I don't belong here. My heart was pounding; I tried to claw my way back down. Samantha needs me! I sensed someone coming towards me; I didn't care who it was. The more I tried, the more it didn't work. This was it. This is where I have to stay. I cried out into the snowy floor beneath me. The person behind me carefully pets my fur.

"Do not worry, Chip. Samantha remembers you. Take a look." The person said, feminine voice. I look up to see a person with white wings and a white dress. She kneels and uses both hands to open a window. Picking me up, I feel her putting me on a window. I descend to the ground. My back feels weird as I feel angel wings forming. I look up to see a golden band forming around my head as I look around for something. I must be here for a reason. Then I see the blur of movement of what I was looking for.

The kitten must've been tossed outside of a vehicle. I quickly looked for help and saw Samantha burying my body. Sorrow filled my whole body. I quickly forced my sadness down to find that kitten. As I got closer, I could see more than just fall damage. The poor girl's eyes were gone. I picked up the kitten by the scruff with my mouth, carrying it to a bush by Samantha, who was mourning.

As I set the kitten down, I whisper in its ear, "She's yours now... Please take care of her for me." I say, making a loud mew noise. I quickly sped away and watched from a different bush. I saw Samantha go into the brush. I left the kitten in and pull the girl out. I could see the happiness in Samantha's eyes as she held the kitten close and looked up to the sky.

I ascended back to the haven I was placed in, still feeling empty. Then an alarm sounded. I saw the bridge lighting up a beautiful rainbow color; many cats were running across it. Others stayed behind, waiting at the mouth. I went to the bridge and saw an older cat standing by herself. She let me sit by her. "This is where we wait." She mewed quietly. Understanding, I sat next to her. This is where I'll wait for Samantha.

Time started over.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Rhea Camp

Just A Future Author

I love cats, sad things, spooky things, and music.

Wrote two finished, unpublished novels

I also have a loving fiancee who has supported me through everything :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.