Petlife logo

It's Impossible to Write With a Dog

But We Love Them So

By Natalie GrayPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - November 2022
48
It's Impossible to Write With a Dog
Photo by Sofia Guaico on Unsplash

It's impossible to write with a dog hovering over your shoulder. Perhaps if you have a small lap dog, like a Yorkie or a Dachshund, you may tend to disagree, but a great big fur-baby like a German Shepherd? Impossible, I say.

Granted, she's very sweet and incredibly smart. Smarter than I am at times, it seems. I love her dearly, but it is a colossal feat to get an ounce of work done with this colossal, loveable fiend constantly licking my ears. How do you tell a dog that it's not time to play, without feeling like the biggest villain of all time? After all, what could be more important than wet, sloppy kisses and playing ball to a canine? Nothing, I say.

And now, she's pouting in the corner. Her soulful dark eyes filled with the most intense betrayal I have ever seen. She catches me glimpsing at her, and her ears prick up with hope. She inches closer, slowly mind you, perhaps thinking I won't notice her returning to my side. She scratches her ear with her foot, pretending not to care a bit about what I'm doing, perhaps in the hope that I will reach over to give her a pity scratch. I told you, she was smart.

Of course, I want to pet her. I want to scratch her belly until she sings to me the song of her people. What I do not desire so greatly is wiping drool strings off my keyboard, and making sure my pens and paper notebooks are out of reach of her ever curious maw.

Then again, I suppose a little doggy drool never really hurt anything, did it? She has returned to her corner, huffing and sighing from boredom. It's at times like these we ask ourselves, "is it worth it?". Working is important; it puts food on the table and a roof over our heads. But working - even if it is a task we love - comes at a cost: the cost of not giving our precious canine companions all the love and attention their little hearts desire.

Cats, for the most part, are different. They don't seem to care what we do, as long as there is food in their dish and clean litter in their boxes regularly. Every now and again they emerge, just long enough to grace us with a moment of their illustrious presence, as a reward for our hard work keeping them fed and sanitary. Somewhere in this house there is a cat, although I admit I haven't seen hide nor hair of him all day. I suppose he likes it that way; curled up somewhere dark and cozy, enjoying his solitude. Can't say I blame him at all.

Dogs, however, require that social interaction, don't they? Every time they see us, it's like they're seeing us for the first time. Some bark or dance for joy when the front door opens; others are barely able to contain their excitement, and of course there are those who accidentally release their "excitement" on the rug. We can't blame them too much for that though, right?

I think she's gone to sleep. All I can see is a black and brown pointed ear, flicking every now and again with every click of my keys. I guess she finally lost interest in me, which is how I finally seem able to get down a word in edgewise. In all honesty, I kind of miss having her flop down beside me on the couch, and drop her head in my lap. That level of affection - so pure, so unconditional - is nice to have for a change. Yes, its annoying, but enjoyable in its annoyance in a way. Does that make sense?

If you have a dog, I suppose it just might.

dog
48

About the Creator

Natalie Gray

Welcome, Travelers! Allow me to introduce you to a compelling world of Magick and Mystery. My stories are not for the faint of heart, but should you deign to read them I hope you will find them entertaining and intriguing to say the least.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 months ago

    Hi we are featuring your excellent Top Story in our Community Adventure Thread in The Vocal Social Society on Facebook and would love for you to join us there

  • Erwin Smithabout a year ago

    😍 this is amazing. I can picture this with my pup.

  • Janet J. Smithabout a year ago

    They're so adorable that it would be hard to focus on the writing.

  • Kimabout a year ago

    Lol I can definitely relate

  • Chelsea Lynneabout a year ago

    Completely relate to this struggle and love hearing about others’ adventures with their pets. Thanks for sharing!!

  • Arun kumar barikabout a year ago

    Nice, and I have a cute dog, and I love him very much. thanks

  • AYYOUB MCabout a year ago

    Nice 🙂

  • marie e ehlenbachabout a year ago

    I have a dog, she is Pekingese & Pomeranian! She doesn't sit in my lap, but she is 10 yrs old! It is nice when you have a dog who knows when it is OK and when it is not. I would't give her up for nothing! It takes time!

  • monika agrawalabout a year ago

    nice :)

  • Chrisabout a year ago

    lol some truth there.

  • Annie Edwards about a year ago

    I have a Chihuahua, and I completely relate to this!! I always feel horrible when she stares at me with a sad look because something else has my attention at the time.

  • Angelina F. Thomasabout a year ago

    I am looking forward to having my new pet bird sit on my shoulder while I type up great work. I will have to use a picture of me and my bird on my shoulder on one of many new stories I will write. Keep up the excellent work. Thank you.

  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a year ago

    I don't have a dog, but it's kinda heartwarming to read what you wrote. :) Looks like your dog DID help you write, this story at least. Hehe!

  • Jodi Nichollsabout a year ago

    This is so wholesome! I have two cats, and they're fine being near me but don't require the same level of attention as the dogs I know and love. <3

  • Martin Thomasabout a year ago

    I love dogs

  • Fatma M Robinsonabout a year ago

    Your story was very detailed story. I could picture exactly what ur dog looks like. I enjoyed reading this.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Very true! My GSD pokes my arm while I'm typing and h feels ignored - but if you think writing is hard with one, try Yoga! That's fun. We're all on the ground playing. 😂Fun article - good writing!

  • K.H. Obergfollabout a year ago

    HAHAHA, love this story!! We have a German Sheppard that's 10 months old and he is an overly energized love-bug : )

  • Steven Goundenabout a year ago

    I can definitely relate to this. I had a Dachshund a few years ago and I can tell you that no matter how big or small they are - they still need the interactive experience.

  • akhil achieversitabout a year ago

    Good writting

  • Testabout a year ago

    Haha I can so relate. My bull arab baby is a very vocal, giant velcro dog who physically pushes my hands off my keyboard. So naughty...but those puppy dog eyes win me over every time. He is 6 years old, going on 6 months.

  • Autumn Fryeabout a year ago

    I can relate to this! I have a lab-pitbull mix who follows me everywhere wanting attention. Great article!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.