Petlife logo

In the Woods

Capturing nature in my local woods.

By Angela DerschaPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
13
In the Woods
Photo by JOHN TOWNER on Unsplash

Capturing the wild means to capture nature and all its glory. That's a big challenge. On the one hand, you don't want to disturb the delicate balance by getting too close, but on the other, you can't help but to admire such raw, powerful beauty. I'm not a great photographer, but I have taken up this task with all of my heart. Bear with me my fellow readers, for I shall tell you my story.

By Annelies Geneyn on Unsplash

Legend has it that if you venture far enough into the desolate wilds of Cedartown, GA that you will find a creature so dangerous, yet elusive that it's presence sends shivers down your spine. By chance, I encountered it! I was out on a morning stroll, enjoying the crisp, clean air before rainfall. The leaves that we're shredded during autumn were crunching beneath my memory foam house shoes; the wind was rustling through the trees, the grass was tickling my calves, the atmosphere was peaceful. At least it was until the beast appeared; behold, the wild feline:

Silently stalking its prey.

It was male from the look of his rear area. He was still and stoic, yet intimidating. He didn't notice me at first, but I saw him right away, darting around in the bushes and weeds. After a few moments of close observation, through my smartphone’s camera function, he stopped and stared at me. I was afraid! Never had I encountered such a creature. Even though I was a few feet away, his predatory instincts were visible. Although he seems to be calm and relaxed in this first-hand experience, he was growling and displaying his dominance to me. Eventually, my nerves settled enough to take the picture shown above. He didn't like that.

Immediately, the foul creature charged at me maliciously. I was chased from the woods behind my home, across the property, and onto my front porch. My stray cat friends protected me long enough to open the door and run inside. I was horrified. Most animals, even wild ones, enjoy my company, so for this one to blatantly hate me hurt my feelings. Shortly after I calmed down, I began editing the picture, piecing together the accompanying images for this epic encounter, and typing it up for all of you.

Why this picture? Well, this was his natural habitat, and I'm a huge cat lover. Yes, he is wild, but it doesn't make him less interesting to me. He displayed an independent strength of a survivor while also appearing to be a fluffy kitty cat that wants to be loved on the surface. Sometimes, all it takes is the right person to break down those invisible walls. What did I use to take it? I used my Samsung Galaxy Jv3 camera capture function, with an HD filter added. How did I edit it? I transferred the picture onto my laptop and patched it up as best as I could. I'm not a professional photographer, after all. What does this picture represent to me? It represents the untamed wildlife of Georgia. It is surviving the harsh conditions, the snakes, the insects, and other crazy, aggressive animals. You can even spot battle damage from various attacks if you look close enough at the picture.

Honestly, this even made me realize just how much I enjoyed being around nature. Taking in that fresh air, basking in the golden sunlight, listening to the birds chirping happily, and watching the squirrels gather nuts. I'll buy a camera and be fully prepared for more photo opportunities. After all, the best way to hold on to a memory is to take a picture; it lasts longer.

If you like what you read, please leave a heart for support. If you're feeling generous, a tip is appreciated but not necessary.

If you like this story about animals, check out my other ones:

photography
13

About the Creator

Angela Derscha

Twitter @angied7592. Long time lover of literature. Obsessed with adorable animals and coffee I spend my days playing video games with my brother and fiancee. I got a medium account too https://angeladerscha.medium.com/ check it out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.