Petlife logo

I Tried Subscription Dog Food: Here’s My Honest Review

When you get all-natural, nutrient-dense dog food that your pup loves delivered to your doorstep, it’s a no-brainer.

By Chico and The CityPublished 2 years ago 4 min read

Supported byOllie

Top Story - July 2022
9

Whether you live by the beaches of Los Angeles or out in the desert in Texas, like me, there’s a good chance that you’ve considered giving subscription food delivery a try.

After all, meal delivery services have totally consumed the food industry. I mean, there’s nothing better than healthy, gourmet meals delivered right to your door, no matter where you live or what kind of food you might be craving.

But the next time you place an order, consider this: you might be leaving out the most beloved member of your family—your dog!

Just think about it. Think about all the poor pups out there that see their parents and siblings come home from work, school, theater practice, whatever it is, to fresh gourmet meals delivered right to their door. While we get to nosh down on our dinners in peace, our dogs are stuck with the same, bland, unhealthy, and unexciting food day after day.

One night, while I was savoring my latest dinner delivery, I looked down at Chico’s sad puppy dog eyes and realized I wasn’t being fair to him. For years, I had been feeding Chico just your standard, run-of-the-mill dog food. Chico would beg and beg for my fresh food. It was totally driving me nuts!

That is, until I realized we had other options.

I tried subscription dog food and, while the switch did take some getting used to, I have to say—I’m never going back! Here’s my honest review.

Subscription Dog Food: My Honest Review

When I started looking for subscription dog food options for Chico, I wanted something that would satisfy his cravings for the perfect doggy food and check off a few other boxes.

I really wasn’t interested in a cookie-cutter formulation, which is why I headed over to Ollie. Ollie makes sure each delivery of dog food is personally tailored to your pup’s needs. Before you buy, you’ll be able to provide information about your dog (like his age, breed, health, size, etc) and how and when you’d like your food delivered.

It’s totally customizable! Here are a few other things I like about Ollie.

Natural Ingredients

Once I really started taking a long, hard look at the ingredients in Chico’s food, it wasn’t surprising that he was less than impressed at dinnertime.

I couldn’t even pronounce half of them, and the other half? Definitely not things I would want to put in my belly, to say the least. Did you know that a lot of commercial dog foods contain ingredients like “animal byproduct” and food dyes?

Uh, no thanks.

The beauty of Ollie’s Baked foods is that they are made with real meat and vegetables. You can actually see these in the food and they’re first on the ingredients list.

And you can pronounce them all! Things like fish oil, chia seeds, beef, chicken, and sweet potatoes. There’s no harmful fillers or preservatives. No wheat, soy, or corn. No antibiotics or hormones. Ollie uses human-grade, high-quality chicken, beef, turkey, and lamb that are sourced according to their high-quality standards.

To make it even better, all of the food is baked in small batches at low temperatures so the cooking process doesn’t destroy the nutrients.

Health Benefits

Ollie Baked food is the closest thing you can get to feeding your dog human food—but better, perhaps, because the recipes are formulated to enhance the health of your four-legged friend.

The recipes are formulated to meet the nutritional levels that are established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for All Life Stages. You can rest assured that you’re getting exactly what your dog needs in a convenient delivery.

Flavors My Dog Loves

When it comes to finding the perfect food for my dog, Chico, I want something that is delicious, nutritious, and affordable. Chico loves the variety of flavors in Ollie Baked dog food, and I love knowing that he is getting the best possible nutrition.

Since making the switch to Ollie Baked, I’ve only had one big problem– I literally have to hide Chico’s dog food when I’m not home! Otherwise, he’s able to snoop out the stash before I have a chance to feed it to him.

Convenience

Dog food delivery services are truly the perfect solution for busy pet parents who want to make sure their furry friend is getting the nutrition they need.

With Ollie, you can customize your dog's meals to their specific dietary needs and have them delivered right to your door. No more canceling your plans because you have to cook dinner for your dog! With Ollie, you can have your cake (or pup-cakes) and eat it, too.

Affordability

There are a few reasons why Ollie's dog food delivery service is more affordable in the long run. For one thing, you don't have to worry about buying separate bags of food for each of your dogs - with Ollie, you can simply choose the right portion size for your pup and have it delivered straight to your door.

Additionally, Ollie's food is made with high-quality ingredients that are designed to give your dog the nutrition they need, which means you'll likely see a decrease in vet bills over time.

Finally, Ollie offers a discount on your first box, and even a money back guarantee in case your pup doesn’t love it (which they will)! All of these factors make Ollie's dog food delivery service an affordable option for pet parents.

Subscribe to Better Taste and Better Nutrition

Chico is pretty good at telling me what he likes and doesn’t like! So that’s why I thought it would be a good idea to let you all know what he thought of subscription dog food.

I’ve told you about all the reasons why I love Ollie Baked, but as for Chico? Well, he gives it two big paws up. He gets so excited for each delivery and actually seems to look forward to mealtime now.

He’s one happy pup—and I’m one happy dog mama.

product review
9

About the Creator

Chico and The City

Chico was born in Texas, raised in San Francisco. Now living his best life best in New York city. Chico loves travel and is a huge mama's boy. Keep up with Cheeks on IG @chicoandthecity

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.