Petlife logo

I SAVED A CAT, WHO SAVED ME RIGHT BACK!

Teddy the talking cat!

By Julia LindsayPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

I am holding my mother's lifeless hand . I am staring at her big toe nail, which is jagged .

Her ECMo machine swirls on and her body is bloated unmoving.

I tell her ," I love you Mom , Its Julie , please can you hear me ,"

I squeeze her hand three times.

I look for a sign but see nothing.

This massive room is a Horror room,

all the 30 or so patient's are together displayed , one tragedy after another. Some are young, looking like living dolls, I think it must be a car accident.

Most are in vegetable states.

My mother is the only one on this hideous machine .

I regret allowing the doctors to put her in this forced coma . She had blood clots in her lungs , the doctors had promised this would be temporary, allowing her body to heal and they would eventually wake her up.

I cannot believe how badly these doctors have injured my mother she has a simple UTI treatable with antibiotics , but they changed her long time blood thinner from Coumadin to Xarelto, causing a bleeding session.

Till she wakes one morning unable to breath.

The staff are perched in the middle of this room , they carry binders and pens, they look like students , none look me in the eyes.

They shuffle past me talking in hushed tones . I stare out looking for compassion , only one student a male asian student meets my stare

He looks at me with very sad eyes and does a bowing gesture.

I feel like dying also , My strong capable mother .

My brother and I get a call three weeks later the doctors saying They will need to remove our mother from the machine ,she is brain dead.

I think of my mother , her aristocrat personality, her high check bones, her amazing turquoise eyes hinted with emerald and yellow.

My mother , my North star .

Her last words to me

" Julie, you always figure things out"

I am immobilized by grief .

I am unable to control my rage .

I blame the greedy healthcare system bleeding my mother's health insurance dry , while she lay in a recovery hospital , when she could of been released weeks ago .

But in her case she gets massive blood clots in her lungs .

I have no patience , I am rage filled, I also can't sleep well and when I do sleep, I don't want to wake up .

My body is shocked by grief into instant menopause.

I am beyond tears , I have a emptiness that is filled with Anger .

I am too depressed to even get up and drive to a mental health clinic.

The treating hospital won't help me even though I try to explain I am too depressed to come to my appointments.

Two months after my mother's death I am driving and inside my head I head I hear

" There is a black cat at the humane society you must get him , He is very smart "

The thought is strange and consistent I am already heading home but the thought is in my head.

I pull off the exit and turn my car around and get back onto the freeway.

I arrive at the Humane society, It's raining , but it's warm out and the rain feels refreshing .

As I enter the building a small cat wind chime on the door chimes softly.

I enter the Cat room, My heart sinks in this place, all these gorgeous animals in need of a home. I admire the volunteers helping all these beautiful animals.

I stare at dozens of cages.

I look into a cage the cat sees me and closes its eyes and then continues sleeping .

Other cats blatantly ignore me .

I look at one cat after another none of them even open their eyes to see me .

Suddenly I look down and a small black paw is literally grabbing my Boot from inside a lower cage.

I look down and see a long haired black cat with bright alien yellow eyes.

"Excuse me ,I say can I see this one?"

A humane society volunteer smiles

" Oh thats ,Teddy"

She carries Teddy into a small visitation room and I follow.

"He is a very nice cat she says "

She leaves the little room and I look down and Teddy is purring loudly and rubbing against my legs .

He is a gorgeous long haired black cat with a dark auburn tone and underbelly .

Teddy stares up to me

His yellow eyes are magical and searching.

I smile at him and He immediately jumps onto my lap purring loudly .

"Ok Teddy boy, I am getting you out of here"

I pay my adoption fees and buy Teddy a license , and a few cans of cat food and a large bag of dry food .

The volunteer puts Teddy inside a large cardboard animal transport case she smiles at me and says

" I am so happy Teddy has found a forever home."

I leave The humane society and put Teddy on my front seat.

It is still raining but the sun is shining bright.

I play classical music while driving to try to calm him if he is nervous .

Yet I hear him purring through the box long and guttural.

"Your a very pretty Boy Teddy " I say..

The Angels told me to come get you , they said you were very smart"

I arrive home and carry Teddy inside, I open the box and he pops out and stares up at me .

I fetch his cat food and Pour him a bowl of cool water and another bowl of salmon with dry food .

Teddy gracefully sways around my knees ,flapping his lush long tail cross my calves.

"Hello Teddy Boy .. Hello"

My boyfriend Rich comes home from work I say exuberantly,

" Look babe We have a New family member !"

He smiles looking at the large long haired cat .

" Wow , that's a huge cat"

"His name is Teddy and I swear I heard a voice in my head telling me to go the Humane society to adopt a smart black cat"

"Maybe it's your Mom "He says smiling.

Rich Kneels down to get a good look at Teddy " Wow such incredible eyes, I never saw a cat with eyes like that" Rich pats Teddy and says

"Is Momma feeding you good?"

Teddy stares, twitching his face with a quizzical look.

Rescue an animal they may rescue you too!

" Wow, Babe that's Great !"

I smile and It seems like it's been months since I actually really smiled, I think of my Mother, her huge beautiful smile, I think she would love this cat .

Teddy assimilates well to living with us .

It's been over a few weeks now and having this lovely new family member is helping my depression.

I open the back door, Teddy and I go outside.

Teddy is languishing in the bright sunshine , he is stretched on his back and paws spread open , he is twisting delightfully in the sun .

I say" Teddy" come on " and Get up to meander to the woods behind my house ,Teddy follows behind and we sit peacefully together in the woods . The sounds of a woodpecker and the squeal of blue jays filter the air .

Teddy and I relax and close our eyes.

Teddy looks up at me, His quizzical yellow eyes searching mine and says clear as day

"Momma"

I blink and shake my head .

What the hell? am I losing it?

Did this cat just talk???

That Evening I tell my partner Rich .

" Babe, I swear to you Teddy looked directly at me and said Momma!"

He looks at me deadpan , His large green blue eyes wrinkle in laughter.

"Babe, your worrying me, Have your stopped taking the antidepressants or something?"

" No, the cat can Talk!!"

" What did he say? Your a Moran?"

I shake my head Laughing at Rich's deadpan humor.

" He said Momma"

Rich smiles" Well that's weird , Every morning when I leave for work and Your still sleeping I tell Teddy

" Take care of Momma!"

Teddy looks up at us and says clear as day

"Momma"

Rich and I burst out laughing

" Oh my God, WTF , We have a talking cat"

Rich and I burst out laughing and literally fall to the ground giggling.

As the days pass I find that

I love to take Teddy for long walks in the woods behind the house

Teddy and I stare at each other

His yellow eyes shift to bright green in certain shady areas of the woods.

I think

" I miss you Mom"

"Come on Teddy , Follow Momma, Let's go lay in the Sun"

I get up and slow jog back to my sunny hammock in the backyard, "Come on, Teddy boy"

I smile as I notice the large furry cat pouncing right behind me.

We lounge out under the warm Sun

The heat is intoxicating.

I stare mesmerized into the eyes of this otherworldly creature .

I am calm in his presence and I say

" You saved me too didn't you Teddy Boy?"

I wonder if my mother sent me This beautiful boy ?

I see a sunbeam spread slowly across the sky and I feel certain

For the first time since losing my Mother

I feel that somehow I will survive !

cat
Like

About the Creator

Julia Lindsay

I am a hard rock musician. filmmaker and writer. I am an Endangered Species Advocate and Environmentalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.