Petlife logo

I Love Cats

I Really Do!

By Ruth Elizabeth StiffPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

When I was about 15 years old and doing my CSE and O level exams (GCSE’s to you younger ones), my parents sat me down “for a chat.” I thought “Oh no, what have I done now?” as any typical teenager would say. “No matter what your exam results will be, mum and I know that you have done your best,” (yes, I did actually study for these exams) “here is a gift to say well done and that we are proud of you.” And they put into my lap a tiny, black and white kitten. I fell in love with cats!

Sheba was my baby. I fed her, cleaned her litter tray, brushed her --- absolutely loved her. And she loved me back and did all the loving things that cats do (I learnt not to trip over her). As a teenager, Sheba was the perfect gift. My mum and dad knew that I would look after her and Sheba was the perfect companion for me personally. I had Sheba for, roughly, 5 years and then we had to have her put to sleep --- a form of cat cancer which could not be treated. I cried for days. But, you know, even all these years later --- I see Sheba in my dreams, I really do.

Cats --- a domesticated species in the family “Felidae.” Here, I’m talking about the domestic cat as opposed to the wild species. I’m talking about the cat you can pick up and cuddle and feel comfort when you hear its purr. You know the one, who’s independent and wants feeding and cleaning --- when he / she wants it! And I think that’s one of the reasons why I love cats, because they have their own individual characters.

Being so interested in cats, I have (naturally) ‘studied’ them and found them an interesting subject. If you are as mad as me, I could have been one of the Egyptians who worshipped the cat goddess “Bastet” who started as a lioness then ‘became’ a cat. Bastet was the daughter of Ra, the Sun god and was an important cult at Memphis. Large cemeteries of mummified cats have been found, along with thousands of bronze statuettes of the goddess. Small figures of cats were worn as ‘amulets’ and were (probably) related to the cult Bastet. This goddess was a protector of the home, ‘women’s secrets’, fertility and childbirth. The Egyptians believed that cats were ‘magical’ creatures and brought good luck to those who looked after them. Wealthy families really did treat cats as the goddess and would dress them in jewels and fed them only the best food. Well, I gave my Sheba a lovely collar and she certainly brought me good luck by keeping me calm during my exams.

The “Ragdoll” is a beautiful breed of cat (no, it’s not a doll!). They have lovely blue eyes, are ‘large’ and have a soft and silky coat. Ragdolls are docile and placid and affectionate by nature --- and sociable --- but they only ‘speak’ when they are hungry, otherwise these cats are the quietest of cat breeds. They are intelligent and can be ‘trained.’ These cats got their name from going limp and relaxed when picked up. Sounds purrfect to me.

Who hasn’t heard of the “Sphynx”? Believe it or not, these are a real cat breed and not just an Egyptian stone statue. To some, these cats may look ugly as they lack the coat of a ‘normal’ cat. The Sphynx breed is , however, one of the most loving and friendly, especially with children. It doesn’t like being left on its own though, craving companionship and attention. They are mischievous and outgoing and are “champion purrer.” The Sphynx likes to talk. Their skin is very sensitive and needs to be bathed or sponged every week to remove the oil. “The Sphynx cat has a larger than life character” --- like its Egyptian mythical statue.

One of my absolute favourites is the “Siamese” cat, an easily recognized breed of Asian cats. This beautiful breed comes in many different colours and patterns and loves to be cuddled and fussed over. They bond with their owners and are loving and trusting --- almost like little people! Being one of the most talkative of cats, the Siamese has its own ‘opinions’ and is highly intelligent. It is interesting that the Siamese is one of the oldest breeds of cats in the world, coming into England in 1880, when the King of Siam gave two pairs of Siamese cats to the English consul-general in Bangkok, who brought them back to England. They were “the talk of the town”, and seeing how beautiful this breed is, it’s quite understandable.

Cats have always been in films, going right back to 1901 (“The Sick Kitten”). Most of us have seen “The Aristocats” (1970) and love one of the catchiest songs ever written --- “Everybody wants to be a cat,” (admit it, you were singing it in your head --- I certainly was). The cat from “The Mummy” (1999) saved the heroine from an undead monster.I’m not sure whether cats can ‘act’ but I love their personalities --- they “own” this world!

When thinking about cats in literature, I have to think of Beatrix Potter and The Tale of Ginger and Pickles --- a yellow tomcat who ran a shop with his partner Pickles, a terrier. And we all remember “The Cheshire Cat” from Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll --- the cat that appears and disappears, leaving only its smile. Then there is “Electra” from Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats by T.S Eliot, one of the younger kittens in the tribe of “Jellicle” cats (remember the musical “Cats”?). Have you heard of “Kitty” from Bad Kitty by Nick Bruel? She is a housecat who wreaks havoc around her owner’s home when she is in a bad mood --- “Bad Kitty” --- black and a white tuft of fur on her chest --- similar to my Sheba in colouring and moods!

Did you know?

The first years of a cat’s life is equal to the first 15 years of a human life. Cats can rotate their ears 180 degrees. A cat can hear (at least) 5 times keener than that of a human adult (I’d be happy just to hear as a normal adult!). Cats can spend about 70% of the day sleeping and 15% of the day grooming (my husband says it sounds like me). It is a belief that if you dream about a white cat, good luck will follow you, And --- it is said --- that cats ‘developed’ meowing to be able to communicate with us humans. Sheba certainly loved to talk!

The oldest ‘known’ domesticated cat existed 9,500 years ago --- from Cyprus --- and this predates the Egyptians. The richest cat “Blackie” is found in the Guinness World Records, having a fortune of £7 million, given to him by his millionaire owner, who preferred to give his fortune to his cat instead of his family (be nice to you old uncle, you never know). Just out of interest, Sir Isaac Newton invented the catflap! Whilst working on his experiments at the University of Cambridge, Isaac was constantly being disturbed by his cats scratching at the door, so he asked the carpenter to saw 2 holes in the door for mother and kittens. Apparently these ‘holes’ can still be seen at the University today.

So, there we have it. I still love cats --- “I really do” --- and I’m looking forward to having another one, when I retire and can give him or her all the love and attention he or she deserves --- just like I did, all those years ago as a teenager. I’ll be forever grateful to my mum and dad for that tiny gift of a kitten --- my Sheba.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Ruth Elizabeth Stiff

I love all things Earthy and Self-Help

History is one of my favourite subjects and I love to write short fiction

Research is so interesting for me too

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.