Petlife logo

HOW WE MET ROSCOE

How he was waiting for us.

By Claudia RodriguezPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1
One day in Lake Tahoe

It was two days before Christmas, my daughter and I left work early that day so we could finish our Christmas shopping, our main focus was to find a puppy for dad. Well for all of us really, but dad was in recovery from a broken arm. We made out way to a couple of stores bought a few things and headed to the shelter, ready to adopt. One shelter down no luck we wanted a puppy or maybe even a one-year-old, nothing older, a well-tempered easy-going dog, one who would bond with us. A 10-week old puppy would have been perfect but if you want a specific breed it usually costs more. We checked out a puppy place in town only to find out the owners had been forced to close due to shady business practices, so no puppy here. On we went to another shelter, where we found a possibility, a black Lab mix only 9 months old, I was ready to visit with her and find out if we were meant for each other, but as we went to ask about her she was taken away to her visit with her possible new family.

We waited and kept looking, we saw a 7-month-old German shepherd, a beautiful dog, but he himself looked at us and walked away, then a 10-month-old husky whose bio stated need lots of room to run, he looked curiously at us, but we had not big yard for him to be free, we moved on and found that the lab was going to her forever home. So we left the shelter feeling sad, no puppy here. Then we remembered that on Saturday the pet shop has adoption shows, and so we made our way to the pet shop, the first was about to close and said that they had only two chihuahuas left, we knew we did not want a chihuahua, it was 2 pm on Saturday and we still had no puppy, we were about to leave, when one of the volunteers approached us and said that there was another group at the pet store down the street, that they would be there until 4, we made our way over to the pet store, and went straight to the adoption table, the lady there said they only had two dogs left the 6-year-old she was holding and one more 9-month-old Basset hound, he was being shown off walking the store.

There were many other dogs in the store that day, but they were just shopping for Christmas gifts, as we waited for the volunteer to return to the table we read the profile of the Bassett Hound, a pitbull mix with droopy eyes a friendly disposition, nine-month-old rescue, abandoned.

His picture made him look awkward, and the name he had been given did not go with him.

About ten minutes later here came a young man holding a leash and at the end of it, was a clunky looking dog, too big for his legs, long droopy ears and a walk that said I’m tired, but his face looked like he was smiling, he made my heart melt, as they got closer to us the lady said this is Montressor and my daughter approached him cautiously, I was wondering, how she felt, I got close and pet his head, he looked at me and proceeded to tackle my daughter to the ground licking her face, and cuddling with her, no need to ask if he was the right dog, he picked us, that is how we met our beloved Roscoe, Yes we changed his name, Montressor did not seem fitting, we got home and were a bit worried about how he would react to the rest of the family, we opened the door and let him notice 3 men standing there, who took one look and fell in love too, we walked in and he immediately made his way to dad who said that he was a beautiful dog. The rest of the evening was about getting him to rest it had been a long day, we discovered he had burn marks on his ears, he hated the smell of smoke and alcohol on people, but with us, he was happy and calm, except walking him on a leash became a bit more difficult when he got bigger as he decided running was better. So drives to the dog park became the thing to do. At the apartment, we would take him to do his business, as time went by we got a house and now he runs like crazy, it has been 2 years since the day we got him and he takes on well to the people that come stay with us after he gives them a hard time making a big fuss about letting a stranger in the house.

Roscoe is the perfect companion, and the way he picked us is the sweetest thing ever. Thank you Roscoe for coming into our lives.

This is Roscoe’s Version of the story

There were many humans coming and going all day every day, some nice some not so much, I could smell them as they passed by. The human home I was brought to was ok, not like the one I was in, but it had many of my buddies that had also been brought in here, one day after they took me out of the funny smelling room that gave me some pain, was taken to a tiny room to sleep, the next day I was allowed to go play on a small yard, the humans gave me food, and talked nicely, one, in particular, was very friendly I wanted to make them my human. But they smelled like a cat, so I was not sure. The days went by and one day they took me to a place where many other humans kept coming in and taking my friends, I woke up that day with a feeling of happiness, I could smell that something and someone good was coming.

I followed directions kept to myself and stayed on my leash as they wanted me to.

It was a long day, but every human that came by seemed to be looking for something different.

Somewhere out there I knew was the one for me. Meanwhile in a place that was dark and dreary sat two female humans a little one and an older one, they knew they were coming for me just not sure who that was, finally, they left the sad place (Work) and headed out into the world to find me, I could smell the promising air, they went somewhere else first because I lost the scent, but then after a long wait I caught it again, they were closer, but still I still had to wait a long time.

Did the female humans not know I waited I waited and waited, and finally they walked in, I was being walked and shown to other humans, I kept asking the young male why didn't we just go for my humans, but he seemed not to want to listen to me. So we kept walking, I knew my humans were there, all we had to do was walk over to them. Finally, after the young male stopped talking to other humans he took me back to our spot, and they were looking at toys was this young female human who said “ mom look! The older human is mom, she gives Cookies, ok so I saw them and knew I was right these were my humans, they seemed happy, I got petted and talked to, they felt safe, I hugged the young human who sat on the floor to hold and kiss me, I was in love, my new humans took me to a place with male humans and they were nice too. I get clothes, beds, food, and walks, and they all sit with me on the big bed, that I let them borrow when I am not there. (the sofa), my humans are all very loving and keep me safe. Woof, woof.

Our Roscoe is a big part of our lives, we have been to the lake, parks, rivers, and mountains. He loves it all.

dog
1

About the Creator

Claudia Rodriguez

I am a nature loving person who finds the indoors quite suffocating after a while, I find inspiration in the beauty of a mountain, the flight of a bird or the soft swaying of a flower in the wind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.