Petlife logo

How To Secure Your Cat for Car Rides

You're wearing a seatbelt, so shouldn't Mister Whiskers have one too?

By Shadow the Adventure CatPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Few people would argue the importance of wearing a seatbelt or putting kids in booster seats. Yet, seatbelts are debatable for America’s beloved cats and dogs.

You wear a seatbelt so that you don’t go flying through the windshield in the case of an accident. What do you think will happen to Fido and Mister Whiskers if we’re not wearing one?

Why You Should Strap in Your Pets

One day, Missus decided to fully unzip my carrier, so I could do as I pleased. Well, it pleased me to be as close to her as possible. Naturally, I scrambled over the gear shift and hopped down to the floor to curl up by her feet…while she was driving. She promptly pulled over and put me right back into the carrier.

This was not the first time Missus completely unzipped my carrier. But, it was the first time I decided I wanted to go hang around the gas pedal and brake pedal while she drove. She has not fully unzipped the carrier since, and I would also like to think I learned my lesson.

Another good reason is that emergency stops or car crashes could send Mister Whiskers flying into the dash or through the windshield. Even if he survives being launched out of the vehicle, there’s a strong risk of serious injuries, long-term disabilities, or never finding him again.

How To Secure Your Cat

The easiest way to secure your cat is to keep them in a pet carrier during travel. You can then belt in the carrier. Another great option is to put a harness on your kitty and then secure them via the harness. There are seat belt harnesses designed for this exact purpose. Missus straps me in via both a harness and the pet carrier. Better safe than sorry!

There is an ongoing debate about whether strapped-in pets should ride shotgun or in the back. Airbags are the primary cause of this debate because they can cause more harm than good to your furry friend. Our FJ Cruiser only deploys an airbag on the passenger side if it detects a person there. The solar generator often triggers the sensor; I never do.

While riding in the back is okay, I much prefer being within petting distance of my missus. The decision is entirely yours to make.

How To Calm Your Cat on Travel Days

I did not take the first few days of travel well, so if your cat doesn't either, it's not the end of the world. My missus and the vet turned to several different solutions until we found something that worked. I like a smaller carrier and I like it covered and zipped up.

I do not like riding outside of my carrier.

I do not want to see outside the window.

I do not like to be tranquilized.

I do like treats and catnip.

What will your cat enjoy on travel days? You will have to take a few trips to see what works. Feel free to use the things I love as a starting point, but your kitty can probably already give you some ideas. Maybe Mister Whiskers has a favorite toy or a blankie he loves to snuggle. Look to your kitty for clues!

Final Meowzings

Traveling with your pet is one of the best adventures you’ll ever experience. Even so, a lot can go wrong—especially if you don’t plan and put safety measures in place. Maybe your kitty loves riding up on the dash or likes to roam the cabin during travel. But, you will likely come to regret that decision in the event of a car crash.

Want to contribute to a good cause? Tip me or pledge so I can buy all the tuna and catnip in the world! Meow! 🐾

cat
1

About the Creator

Shadow the Adventure Cat

I adventure full-time with my missus in her FJ Cruiser. Airbnbs, tents, RV living—we do it all. Come find out how to adventure with your kitty, or just see what I've been up to on the road. Meow!

I love pledges and tips for tuna and catnip!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.