Petlife logo

How To Choose the Right Carrier for Your Cat

It all depends on how you plan to use it.

By Shadow the Adventure CatPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
How To Choose the Right Carrier for Your Cat
Photo by Raoul Droog on Unsplash

Do you have a carrier for your cat? We know a lot of people who don’t. Then, the day comes when they need to take their kitties to the vet or take them out of the RV for repairs—and they have no safe space to do so.

To make matters worse, cats generally hate carriers far more than dogs do. So, how do you find the right carrier that your kitty will at least tolerate? How do you know what to look for?

1. Flight Approval

When looking for a carrier, try to only pick ones that are approved for flights. You never know when you might need to hop on a plane and take your cat with you. Buying a carrier you can take on the plane from the start means you won’t need to purchase a second one for flights, later on. The good news is that these carriers don’t usually cost a lot more than others.

Note that even if you have a flight-approved carrier, the airline decides what flies on their planes. Always check the requirements for pet travel for each carrier before boarding with Mister Whiskers.

2. Carrier Size

Believe it or not, cats prefer smaller spaces when traveling. It feels safer and more secure. Consequently, choosing a bigger carrier often does more harm than good. However, if you plan to travel with several cats, a bigger carrier might make sense. It might not be a bad idea to still keep a smaller one on hand. Be sure to check the size of your cat vs the size of the carrier to ensure it’s a comfortable fit.

When I first started RVing with my human, she bought me a medium-sized dog crate. The idea was to give me all the room I needed to eat, sleep and use my litter box. Well, I hated it.

3. Carrier Portability

Most carriers are designed to be picked up by a handle. This is convenient if you only plan to walk short distances. But, if you have a heavy cat—good luck! You can find a lot of carriers you can wear as a messenger bag. These offer more flexibility. My missus chose one she can practically wear as a backpack, so she can take me with her if she needs to flee the RV in a hurry.

This is where the medium-dog crate also posed a problem. It could only fit in the trunk of the SUV and was difficult to take in and out of the vet's office.

4. Carrier Use

Before you narrow down your carrier options, take a moment to consider the primary use. We mainly use my carrier to ride shotgun in the truck. Missus would love to take me hiking in it, but I’m semi-feral and would likely freak out at the first sight of a human outside our tiny household.

If your cat is a little calmer, this is a great way to broaden kitty’s horizon. Maybe one day I’ll try it!

5. Leash and Harness

Until we came to Mexico, I traveled in my carrier with no harness. But, Missus now puts a harness on for travel days. Most carriers come with a latch inside to attach a leash. Wearing a harness makes it possible for me to wear a leash safely, especially because she no longer fully closes the carrier when we travel.

It also makes it easy for my human to let me roam. I can step outside and stretch my legs while she sets up camp. It is much easier to find and grab a cat wearing a leash and harness in emergency situations.

Want to give me a treat? I’m taking donations for catnip and tuna! 😺

cat
Like

About the Creator

Shadow the Adventure Cat

I adventure full-time with my missus in her FJ Cruiser. Airbnbs, tents, RV living—we do it all. Come find out how to adventure with your kitty, or just see what I've been up to on the road. Meow!

I love pledges and tips for tuna and catnip!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.