Petlife logo

How big a deal can a walk be?

How come you let the puppy worry about it?

By Rachel CaspariPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
How big a deal can a walk be?
Photo by Akshay Madan on Unsplash

My Bean was adopted last June as a puppy (only 50 days old at the time), a Golden (mom) and Samoyed (dad) mix, a true "mutt". Aha! But that didn't stop him from becoming the young master of our family, even Coco, who used to be the most favored cat and considered the jewel of the family, had to let him down.

Bean is so cute!

Half a year has passed and the little puppy seems to have grown up in a blink of an eye. He has grown into a handsome dog - with a golden coat that resembles golden hair and a face that looks exactly like a Samoyed. Because of this unique appearance, has very high recognition, and character gentle and friendly, whether to people and dogs are courteous never barking teeth, plus from childhood to go out now "yield to pedestrians", in our neighborhood popularity continues to be high, just like a "community red man ", no, "community red dog".

I have lived in this neighborhood for 20 years, but not many people know me; Bean has been in my house for only half a year, but when it comes to my dog Bean, most of the people in the neighborhood know him. Every time I took Bean out for a walk, I would meet people I didn't know before who would come up to greet Bean, and Bean would happily greet them with his head, and then sit down and "shake hands" with them, and after the left-handshake, I would have to wait for them to turn around and leave before Bean continued to walk with me. So, I no longer have a name, but am only called "Bean Ma Ma".

Lovely look

Bean's amazing biological clock

Bean's favorite activity is to go for walks, and we are most happy when we go for walks together (unfortunately Coco never goes out, otherwise it would be a family outing).

Usually, it's me or my husband or me and my husband taking Bean for a walk together.

If we are delayed one day and we haven't seen us change our clothes and shoes by the time we get ready to go out, Bean will start to tear the house apart! He will pick up our clothes or shoes and throw them in the most prominent place in the living room - meaning: it's time, why don't you change your clothes and go for a walk? If we still ignore it, it will be in the throat "wooing", while using its big dog mouth to arch our body, to get our attention, it rushed to the front door to sit - meaning: I'm ready, go out. At this point, it became a big deal to go for a walk with him, so we had to immediately put down what we were doing, change our clothes and put on our shoes, and go out.

Bean, please pay attention to your handsome dog image!

If you don't pay attention to the control of the leash, it is easy to be brought down - more than fifty pounds of dog, the strength is amazing.

Every walk there are a few people out of the Bean has a very good idea. If any one of us takes Bean out, it is normal how to go, where to go, and how to return. But if it's Mr. and I taking him for a walk, it's a doggy concern. If the leash in my hand is just, the dog seems to know that Mr. is sure not to get lost, at most is far away, look back, see Mr. far is coming in the direction of us, then you can rest assured to continue to move forward. But if Mr. Bean was leading the dog, he would pay more attention to me. If I was far away, he would have to stop and wait for me to follow him before he continued walking, and sometimes he would even turn back to meet me. Mr. Bean used to tease me that maybe Bean thought I had a low IQ balance and was afraid I would get lost, so he paid attention to my distance from them.

The best part for Bean was going for a walk with me, my husband, and my daughter. Every time we do this, Bean is so excited that he will shake his tail into a propeller and twist his hips and waist.

In his heart, Bean is very attached to his sister. Almost two steps and one look back, repeatedly to confirm whether the sister to follow. My daughter is also a child at heart, and when she sees Bean like this, she can't help but want to tease him. Sometimes she would intentionally lag, or hide, and when Bean turned around and lost Missy, what a relief! She would immediately run to look for her, even if her neck was tightened by the collar and her throat was strangled to the point of panting and panting, causing me or Mr. Bean to stumble, and even if we didn't fall, we almost flashed our waists and had to run with her.

This dodge a few times, find a few times, either I or Mr. are bound to run out of a big sweat, helplessly watching the dog jump, daughter laugh, a family pulling, laughing and cursing into a mess. Is it possible that Bean is most afraid of losing his little sister? This walk to the endless worry? I couldn't keep up with these two energetic bear kids, so I just shoved the leash into my daughter's hand and let her lead Bean along. This works, the effect is no less than the "tiger at the week", I was laughing and telling my daughter this story, while proudly saying that this is equivalent to a one-time solution to the two "scourges", really worthy of me ... ... so my daughter pouted. ...so my daughter pouted, the whole family laughed, and Bean bounced around us with glee.

After taking Bean for a walk for more than half a year, I can be sure that Bean has a lot in mind, not only to keep an eye on the people we go out with, but also to make sure that several people go out together, and that they come home as they are.

The other day, I took Bean for a walk with my husband, and when I came back, I met the director of the property committee and the property manager at the entrance of the community, so I stopped to talk about some recent events in the community. I originally asked Mr. Bean to take him home first, but he followed Mr. Bean for a few steps and then rushed to pull Mr. Bean back, wagging his tail and sitting quietly in front of me, no matter how Mr. Bean pulled and persuaded, how to ensure that Mama would go home later, but Bean was like nailed to the ground, just did not go!

A few people were surprised to see this dog, they thought it was too incredible, and they didn't say anything, they all came around to tease the dog. I had to say goodbye to the people and said to Bean: let's go. When Bean saw me start walking, he immediately stood up and wagged his tail, following me and my husband home. According to Bean's meaning: we three go out together, we must come back together, no one is missing!

But simply go out for a walk, my dog Bean did not worry about ah!

dog
1

About the Creator

Rachel Caspari

Life is just a series of trying to make up your mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.