Petlife logo

How adopting a cat taught me that love is endless and unconditional

Stray to stay

By A.M.RadulescuPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
19
Queen Miti

I've wanted a cat for as long as I can remember, but my parents weren't easily convinced. It didn't help matters that my paternal grandmother - who was living with us at the time being - could not fathom an animal in the apartment. Humans and animals coexisting indoors?! What is this sorcery? Actually, I think her precise words were: "It's either the cat or me." Kind of a bummer.

So I begged, pleaded, cajoled, made a great deal of promises - mostly centered on the vow to be the best, most responsible cat keeper in existence - and finally... FINALLY, my parents relented. I remember it perfectly, even though many years have passed since. Barely eleven years of age was I, but happier and more excited than others have the fortune of being in an entire lifetime, for sure.

The big moment

"Wait here and be good. We'll go get her and come back," my parents said to me. Like if there was any way to stand still in the face of such utter joy. Not even my livid grandmother (still reeling after being bested by a cat) could put a damper on my good mood. And so, exactly 49 minutes later, the door opened at last and in they came. Approaching on silent feet to the hallway with the utmost care, I craned my neck to see her, but the poor thing was clinging to my father for dear life, with her head burrowed deep in his chest. Still, it was clear that she was the cutest thing ever, with luscious black and white fur and a crown-like pattern atop her little head, barely visible from her hidden position.

"What's wrong with her?" I asked after she bolted under the sofa, right after mom shut the front door.

They said the kitten was just scared and that she'll come around. Only 4-5 months of age and apparently so badly mistreated that she didn't trust humans. No matter, then and there I made a silent vow to shower her with so much love that she'll forget her shaky start in life.

I named the reluctant beauty "Miti", a very common cat name in my country. The first months were not exactly easy, as Miti was as uncooperating as I initially feared. Always hiding behind or under furniture, swiping with her claws when we got too near, even hissing on occasion... But we were all determined to make this work (apart from grandma, of course), so we gave her space, while always being around and constantly speaking with her, in the most serious of tones (because cats can understand you perfectly, they just choose not to, most of the time).

Progress

Slowly, but surely our relationship developed. After a time, Miti even granted us the honor of allowing us to pet her. Within limits, of course. She was still very skittish, especially around new people, but she started to get more comfortable in our presence, after being exposed to a steadily adoring behavior. And when in an amenable mood, Miti had the most adorable, Puss in Boots expression ever.

Cute masked face

Remember that crown-like pattern I was telling you about? We came to realize that it wasn't by chance. After overcoming her initial reluctance toward us, Miti exhibited an almost royal bearing, gracing us with her presence quite often. Never in our laps, but almost always close to us, showing us she cared in her own, feline way.

All hail the queen!

After about a year, following a well-devised matchmaking plan involving a neighboring cat, Miti birthed a litter of four adorable kittens, which we cared for until they were two months old, strong enough to go to the forever homes we found for them. Just imagine, 5 cats in an apartment! It was mayhem, but such a sweet, heartwarming one and it had a double effect on my black and white beauty: it unearthed her motherly instincts, but also made her more playful, finally able to live her lost childhood in a safe environment.

Grandma and Miti

One of the most astonishing facts about adopting Miti was my grandmother's reaction, which morphed from outrage to adoration in the span of a few months. My tough-as-nails grandma fought hard against her budding sentiments, determined to make a point, but eventually, she had to admit defeat. Staying home all day long, it was only natural that the cat would gravitate toward her. Shyly at first and then more and more decisive, until grandma was forced to acknowledge the pawhold Miti had on her heart. Because little did she realize that the cat was even more determined than her.

Whenever I got home from school, they were always together, watching the news or a soap opera, grandma gently stroking her fur or sneaking her a treat.

My dad was shocked by the change in his own mother, but he couldn't comment a thing, because he was just as smitten as she was - only a bit more subtle about it. But he was always buying her tasty snacks or outrageous toys (that the queen often found lacking); or berating anyone who dared to even raise her voice trying to discipline the cat - the audacity! And, of course, mom was as enamored as the rest of us, solidifying our small, happy family and bringing us closer together.

Lessons

We were fortunate to have Miti for 15 amazing years and she was in part responsible for the person I am today. A child myself when she came into our lives as a kitten with a lofty attitude, we grew up side by side. She watched me turn from a kid to an antsy teenager and finally to a young self-assured woman.

Miti taught me a great many things, the first and foremost being that love is endless and unconditional. Yes, I know the rhetoric around the fickleness of cats, opposed to dogs' openness and unnerving loyalty - and heaven only knows that Miti herself had the personality of one who had not forgotten that she was worshiped as a goddess many centuries ago. However, I'm not referring to her love now (even though it was great, only different), but mine.

I spent my teenage years contemplating the concept of love, always fearing that I would grow bored with my future partner, whoever he may be. After all, how long can you love someone? It surely fades over the years, stretched thin by habits that turn from quirky to downright annoying or by time itself. My parents were happily married for many years, but still, this thought had plagued me. Well, my affection for Miti only grew stronger. She brought me so much joy just by being in her presence; watching her sleep, or feeling her purr contentedly, seeing her goofiness or her motherly side and even her most overbearing one... Cuddling her close when she saw me crying and always came to the rescue, trying to soothe my heartache even when it was caused by an external cause like a sad movie or book. Miti was there for me and I for her. Always.

She was my childhood, my innocence, my awakening.

Miti showed me that love is kind and unwavering, simple and patient. It doesn't necessarily require grand gestures, but steadiness, stability, comfort, a nurturing connection, and above all else, truth. Knowing that the person next to you will be there, no matter what. That he/she sees the real you and appreciates everything. It won't be always easy, but it can be glorious when put in the right perspective.

Perhaps the only time when Miti came willingly on my lap, probably thanks to the puffy robe.

All good things...

Despite her lofty attitude, she was extremely well behaved from the beginning, using the cat litter without fail, never stealing a juicy steak or breaking a glass. She never shed her shyness and reticence, though. Whenever we left on vacation and left her at my other grandma (after my paternal one passed away), she wouldn't eat for days or even drink water. It was quite a scare for us as well, but it couldn't be helped. Like most cats, she was particular about her space and needed the comfort of home.

When I was 23, we all moved from our apartment to a nice house in the suburbs. Back then, she was already 12 years old, quite a feat. The move was a bit hard on her, but eventually, she lorded over the house as much as she did in the apartment.

However, three years later, she started to lose considerable weight and when we took her to the vet we found out that she had an inoperable (at her age) tumor. A few weeks later, she stopped eating, so the doctor recommended the inevitable. Needless to say, we were all devastated. She was part of the family, loved and spoiled beyond compare. And despite her being almost 15, we weren't ready to say good-bye. I wanted to bury my head in the sand and block the world, but I couldn't let my mother go through this alone. Dad was in denial, so it was up to us to make things right, however hard it felt. I owed it to my parents and most importantly to the wonderful creature who had brought us so much joy.

That day I put my childhood behind me and stepped up to the plate. Took time from work, bought everything that was needed, and even digged her resting spot, in our back yard, during a pouring rain. And afterward hold her during her final moments at the vet, while mom was waiting outside. I was no longer a child and this was my duty. After all, I made a silent vow upon meeting her that I would shower her with love. And this was another way of proving that. Love is not always easy, but when true, it's the most powerful force in the world. I wouldn't trade it for the life of me, regardless of the end.

Conclusion

Six years have passed since and it's still difficult to talk about those final times, but just like I owed it to her then to act up, I feel that I have to preserve her memory now. To honor Miti. Remember her with the same joy she has brought us. She represented a large part of my life and I'm forever grateful for every moment, every smile, every purr, every lesson.

Miti was a stray to stay. An animal in need of loving and care, which changed our lives as much or even more than we did, gifting us with an abundance of love and happiness. And her story was a happy one. Iti multumim, papusa! Te iubim

Adopt, don't shop!

AUTHOR'S NOTE

Dear reader, thank you so much for sticking with me until the conclusion of this tribute. It means a great deal to me. Give it a heart or a tip if you want to support my writing, but the most important thing is that Miti's story got out. May it inspire you :)

cat
19

About the Creator

A.M.Radulescu

Certified bookworm, published author, hopeful dreamer, passionate traveller, cat lover, life enthusiast. Writing about life and self-growth. Get my debut novel at https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09JRJ3P5T

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.