Petlife logo

Horses and Inner Peace

Their unconditional love knows no bounds.

By Rachel SlaterPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Titan

Horses have always been a way for me to stay grounded. They're very special animals. They don't have a facade or a fake front like a lot of people do. They can read you and determine how you're feeling, and then adjust accordingly. They can teach you so many different things other than horsemanship skills. Even teach you more about yourself that you didn't know.

Horses have such gentle souls. Innocent souls. Old Souls. I feel most calm with them. Every day I get to see my horse and he always waits for me at the gate. Even when I've had a bad day, he's always there. Titan is a strong horse, mentally and physically. We're two peas in a pod. And I wouldn't change that.

I can't imagine my life without horses. They bring me so much happiness that nothing else can bring me. My bond with Titan is nothing like any other horse or animal. He knows when I'm having a good or rough day. He knows when I'm hurting. He's went up and touched certain muscles that were in excruciating pain before. He is intuitive.

Titan never ceases to amaze me. Some days he's more jumpier than others. But most days he's just curious and collected. Riding out on the trail with him is calming. There's always something new when we go out. Finding a tortoise on the side of the trail or spooking at a pile of sticks. But at the end of the day we enjoy it.

I’ve done a lot of firsts with Titan. First blue ribbon, first horse show, first jump, first bad fall, and so many more. He’s given me so much confidence and appreciation for myself through all these different events. He’s truly humbled me by doing so. I take a lot of pride in all the accomplishments that I’ve reached with him. It gives me something to be proud of and something to look back on to remind me of how far I’ve come in my horsemanship skills. I’m happy to have him as my horse; people often envy him for how well-mannered and kind he is. He wouldn’t be who he is without how far both him and I have gone. It brings me so much happiness knowing that we have achieved so much in the past, and continue to achieve new accomplishments now.

He always knows how to bring me back down to where I need to be. Whether it's riding, grooming, or just watching him. He picks up on how I'm feeling and adjusts to it. He's more touchy and cuddly when I'm not myself, and more pushy when I'm in a better mood. When I'm doing something I'm not supposed to, like riding when I'm in pain, he won't listen. It's his own way of communicating to me. His way of saying that I don't have to push myself to these great standards when I'm with him. I can just be myself without being judged.

Horses live in the moment. They aren't worried about yesterday or tomorrow. They aren't worried about what's going to happen next week or next month. They are only concerned about what is currently happening. It's something we should learn from them.

There's always going to be that gentle eyed gelding waiting for me at the gate. Whether it's a bad day or good day. He's always there. He is my calm in the storm. He is the one thing that never changes and stays constant in my routine and life. I don't know what I would do without him. He may be part of my life, but I am his whole world. I'm all he knows. I wouldn't change that for anything.

horse
1

About the Creator

Rachel Slater

My name is Rachel, I'm 26 years old and I live in Florida. Aside from drawing, painting, horse back riding, and soap making; writing has always been one of my favorite past times.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.