Petlife logo

Honey, Could You Bee Any Cuter?

One bee with a ton of personality

By Maggie JusticePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
4
Photo Credit: Central Bark Doggy Daycare

Cosmo-tron, Cosmo-sauce, Cosmo the Love of My Life. Whatever he's referred to as, there's no doubt he will perk his ears and superman jump into your lap no matter where you are or how big he is. This year, Cosmo and I decided to dress him up as a bumble bee, one of the nice furry ones that don't sting and save the planet. This will be Cosmo's fourth Halloween since we rescued each other in 2017. This year, his daycare offered to take Halloween pictures of the pups in costumes and Cosmo and I could not say no.

Cosmo is a Siberian Husky. If you know a thing or two about huskies, you are probably aware of their endless energy and superb intellect. They say only experienced dog owners should seek a husky best friend. Did I listen to that? No. I found Cosmo by accident. A friend of a friend online was looking to give Cosmo away to a someone before resorting to sending him to a shelter. He was only a year old at the time and I wanted so badly to have a furry friend of my own. As a kid, my family had dogs growing up. We shared the chores and the joy and the tragic losses when they occurred. I thought that made me experienced enough in dogs to be able to handle a husky of my own in my one bedroom apartment.

Turns out, a family of five sharing the responsibilities is an entirely different ball park than trying to raise a husky on my own. We stumbled, we fought for dominance, I cried more than once, but eventually we found our groove, our routine, and our friendship grew. Whenever possible we hike the nature trails, we visit the dog park often, we shop at Petco for treats and toys together. Everyone comments on how beautiful he is, and he really is so beautiful. When we go to our yearly vet checkup, he crawls in my lap and won't let me take my arms away from him until the vet is finished. He howls at me at precisely 7:30 am to go for our morning walks, and continues his song whenever he feels he is being ignored. Once a month or so he spends a day at Central Bark Doggy Daycare.

This picture shocked me, they must have had his favorite treats at the ready. Cosmo rarely sits still for pictures or at all for that matter. I sent him to daycare this time as a sleepover when I was going out of town. When his first day was over I was combing the Facebook page to see where he was and if they got his picture yet. There was nothing the first day. I imagine it was because he was so high energy and full of excitement on his first day that they decided to wait until the second day so he'd be more tired and therefore more compliant for a picture. I can't say I blame them, that was good thinking. Can we talk about that wink, though?! I'm sure it was a random glitch, a moment in between blinks or a hair in his eye, but it fits his personality so well! His daycare did such a great job on this picture.

He also surprised me by keeping his costume on so nicely. Cosmo surprises me a lot. I thought he would try to take it off or seem uncomfortable in it, but if anything I think it made him feel handsome! He walked around in it like he barely noticed it at all and kept it on the whole day. He is such a well behaved boy. When they told me not to get a husky I didn't listen, and it was the best decision I have ever made.

Life with Cosmo is waking up at 7:30 every day even if I'm depressed and would rather sleep. It's differentiating between his howling tones to figure out what he's trying to communicate. It's getting exercise in regularly for both of our benefits. It's having unconditional love when I get home from work. Cosmo is the fluffiest bumble bee in all the land and it's hard to imagine life before I decided to take him home. Happy Halloween, from my bumble bee and me.

dog
4

About the Creator

Maggie Justice

Writing will forever be my favorite way to put words to the pictures in my brain.

I've wanted to be writer for as long as I can remember.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.