Petlife logo

Hola! Soy Dora!

-Maria’s Macaw’s story

By Chacha JaramilloPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Hola! Soy Dora!
Photo by Vish K on Unsplash

Since my childhood, there was always a macaw crossing life paths with me. Maybe I was destined to have a macaw as guardian angel. Not as my own pet. My dad always said these colourful birds, with huge wing span of about 3ft, obviously needed to be kept on huge bird cages .

No taste of freedom at all.

My first encounter was when I got invited to a birthday party at a family country club, where a little zoo was implemented to allow refuge to wild birds from the Amazon.

Yeah, I could’ve been enjoying the birthday party with the other kids, but not, my interest took a sharp turn to go and investigate those loud creatures, huge birds making noise; with long tails and colour plumage took my interest and fascination away from my school friend’s birthday party.

The bright colours of their plumage on some; 3 basic color(red, blue, yellow), bright green, deep sky blue, white, black and dark blue, made a cheerful noise. Perhaps they wanted to talk to me?

They noticed my presence and came down jumping from branch to branch until they came closer to me. I started to move to the opposite side of the big cage, and they followed me. I clicked around. They followed me.

I noticed there was a little bright green macaw. He looked sad but eager to try to get my attention. I decided to talk to him. No answer. I tried louder.

One of the big deep blue ones caught on my saying and repeated what I said back to me. I laughed and laughed. After a couple of ‘hi’, ‘hola’, ‘cookie’, ‘kiss’; the little one decided to come closer to me.

I was still intimidated by the size of the big macaws, so I hesitated to get closer to them. I ran from one side to the other, back and front of the cage. The macaws and me all of the sudden, we’re having our own party. And gosh if they were loud. All the commotion brought the kids outside of the room where the birthday party was happening. The macaws started to imitate all the sounds they heard, to which the kids loved it. The party turned into a louder festival of sounds and words imitated by not only the macaws.

Personal from the Country Club joined us to watch the party the macaws and me started from another kid’s birthday party. An incredible time we all spent. Every now and then, they would show off their dancing moves and their beautiful plumage.

Of course I wanted to come back home after the party with one of those loud colourful birds. My interest increased from that time on. Every time I had an opportunity to talk and be closed to them, I just enjoyed.

Years after, we met Maria. She had a white macaw. Impressive white macaw. She loved to sing and dance. I still remember when I used to visit her, and her macaw. She looked like a princes with her white dress sitting by the window waiting for her charming prince. Every time I went to visit both, I made sure I had extra cookies for Dora, her beloved white princess.

Dora won my heart from the first time I met her, she kept on singing to me to call my attention. Every time Maria opened the door for her, Dora would come out and stay besides me. Dora always made sure she had a little ball that she brought to me to show me how she rolled it on the table back and forth. It was so fun to be sitting there, when it was time for a coffee, Dora always said: ‘coffee for Chacha, coffee for Chacha!

‘Cookies for Dora!

‘Cookies from Chacha!,

‘Thanks Chacha’

‘ want out!

Was her next sentence.

Maria opened the cage’s door and Dora flew to my side, where I had more cookies on hand.

Sometimes Dora shared some cookies with me and Maria, and brought some toys to play with me.

Oh! What a cutie!

I always made sure I brought some cookies every time I visited Maria and Dora.

Work at my company started to pick up, and my visits more scarce. I started to fly overseas.

I tried to keep in contact with Maria and Dora.

Until Maria passed away.

Dora passed away 2 weeks after Maria’s passing.

Maria was diagnosed with cancer. Although she never vocalized her ordeal, Dora stood by her side.

Always talking and Maria giving her cookies.

I got the bad news over the phone one day I called her son.

Her son moved to another city where they have a house. Dora moved there.

Dora lived at that house for a couple of months. Surrounded by kids, not seeing Maria brought her into a deep depression. She started to become weary of people.

One foggy day of Autumn, when the trees around her started to loose its leaves, Dora left the house and the loves she entertained and got cookies from.

Sadness invaded her heart as the cold winter winds slowly creep to your heart.

No more cookies for her.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Chacha Jaramillo

Nature, music and great food lover. Dreaming of having a blog to help people overcome life’s challenges. Born Latin-Chinese, my stories relate how resilience helps you overcome life’s obstacles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.