Petlife logo

Hello

2nd Chance Animal Rescue

By Melissa CPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Hello! My name is Melissa I’m a huge animal lover. I have always been around animals. My grandparents have a farm, I grew up doing dog shows and I earned a vet tech license at the same time that I earned my pharmacy tech certification and EMT license. I promise that will kind of be relevant in a minute.

I currently have five cats, two ferrets and a mouse. And so far everyone gets along really well. (This is where my experience kind of becomes relevant) One of my five cats is more of a fostering situation as I’m currently working on getting my animal rescue up and running. I’m hoping I will be able to officially be a nonprofit by June 2021. I know it seems like that it so far away, but there is so much to do! I just want to make sure everything is legal (don’t want to be shut down before I even begin) and I want to be able to provide the care that the animals will need.

My dad will be helping me out too. We have been taking care of animals together since I was little. He took care of the animals on my grandparents farm and when there were animals that were sick and injured he would take them home and give them to me to look after. I've always loved helping animals so this just seems to be a natural fit for me. As it is he takes in a TON of cats. The farm is located on a dead end road so people will drop off unwanted cats there. My dad has been spending his own money to spay and neuter them. If they require medical care he also gets them the help and medicine they need and most of them now live at his house. So I suggested to him a few months ago that he and I should start an animal rescue. My mom thought I would have to really talk him into it. When I brought it up he was onboard immediately.

One of the things I’m on the lookout for is a building for the rescue. From what I understand, but could totally be wrong about, I don’t have to have a physical site because I’m a rescue not a shelter. Shelters have stricter guidelines. But I still would like a physical site. It would make adoptions easier or if someone needed to surrender a pet for any reason. I would like one that I would be able to not only house some of the animals, but one that would be big enough so that I could also offer services. For example I would love to offer training. It’s not only good for your pet to learn how to behave, but good for the owner to learn proper techniques to handle their pet. And it’s great bonding time for both the owner and their fur baby. Maybe even make some new friends.

I'm also trying to talk my dad into building a rehab facility on the family farm for the ones that aren't able to be adopted right away because of medical and/or behavioral issues. We will work with any animal regardless of its circumstances because everyone needs a 2nd chance. We won’t give up on them. I am also setting up a network of foster homes to take in animals that need a safe and loving home to wait for their fur ever home.

I’m kind of new to working with different social media platforms, so please bear with me. I will get the hang of this lol. I promise! And I hope you stick with us and follow us on our journey to becoming a rescue and meeting the animals that come to us. Remember the kitty I mentioned at the beginning? Her name is Phoebe and if you tune in next time I will tell you all about her and how she came into my care. She is such a good girl, but she is going to need a bit of help, a bit of patience and a lot of love. I look forward to introducing her to all of you.

Thank you for reading. Any money that I earn here will be going directly into the rescue. Until next time stay safe and know that we appreciate you.

adoption
2

About the Creator

Melissa C

I am starting an animal rescue here in Wisconsin. We will care for all animals big, small and everything in between. Any money that I earn here will go directly to helping the animals. Thank you 🥰

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.