Petlife logo

Grieving Pets

The depth of animal emotions

By Ute Luppertz ✨ Published 29 days ago Updated 29 days ago 3 min read
2
Grieving Pets
Photo by Krista Mangulsone on Unsplash

Today, I want to talk to you about grieving animals, especially those who have lost a furry companion.

Here are some examples of what you might see.

Your pet might exhibit the following behaviors:

  • They might look for their deceased friend.
  • They might be listless.
  • They might lose their appetite.
  • They might be clingy and have some separation anxiety.
  • They might sleep more and have little or no interest in toys or playing.
  • They might vocalize more.
  • They might be quiet and vocalize less.
  • They might be seemingly indifferent at the time of the death of their friend.
  • They might experience delayed grief when they realize that their animal friend does not come back.
  • They might get sick.

These are events and behaviors that I have witnessed in my household:

My cat, Moopy, sat vigil for a whole day next to the body of her lifelong mate, Marlo, who passed away naturally in my home.

My dog Pablo was inconsolable when his mentor-idol friend Toddy died. Toddy passed away in my home. Pablo sat beside Toddy's body and tried to wake him up. It was heartbreaking.

I designed a rotating cuddle schedule for Pablo. There was always someone at my house when I was gone. We did this for about two weeks, and no, he didn't become codependent. He did not develop separation anxiety; he just needed a lot of love to process the death of his dog brother.

My dog friend Sarah slept on Shiva's quilt for about three weeks after his passing. My pit bull, Shiva, was her best friend, and she missed him. His scent was comforting for her.

With one of the recent deaths of our sweet chihuahua, Meelah, Pablo was initially totally indifferent. Only a few weeks later, he realized that she wasn't going to come home anymore, and he stopped eating and became depressed.

Our cat, Esme, helped him recover because she insisted on playing with him, and Pablo eventually perked up. He also received grief remedies, and I have taken him with me mostly everywhere, which he loves, of course.

The longest resident in my household, my Senegal parrot Leila Bird, passed away last year at the ripe old age of twenty-six. She had her own "Jungle gym" room with a screen door in my house. My cat Esme and Leila Bird had a special connection. Esme used to meet with Leila Bird each morning for a conference call - with only the screen door between them. After Leila's passing, Esme was initially quieter than usual and then made the bird room her room, where she has been sleeping ever since.

What can you do to support your grieving pets?

  • Tend to them and talk to them - they will sense what you express, and no English language skills are needed.
  • Create new adventures or outings for your canine survivors.
  • Hand feed your pets if they're reluctant to eat.
  • If it resonates with you, give them grief remedies such as IGNATIA AMARA 30 C, a homeopathic remedy available at health food stores. Another remedy I frequently use is a blend of the Bach Flower essences GORSE and WALNUT, which can support deep grief and significant life changes.
  • Give them a loving massage.
  • Let them sleep in their friend's bed if they want to.
  • Play soothing music for them when you leave the house.

So, what can we glean from this? Animal grief is real, and it can manifest in different ways. Use your intuition, tune in with your pets, and love them through this.

You can comfort each other while you cherish your deceased pet's memories and your eternal connection with them.

“All the love you created is still there. You live on -- in the hearts of everyone you have touched and nurtured while you were here. Death ends a life, not a relationship.” Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

therapyhow to
2

About the Creator

Ute Luppertz ✨

I am an animal lover, a meditator, and a wisdom keeper. I live my passion through writing about life and animals and working as a pet death doula and animal communicator.

You can learn more about me here: petspointofview

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Thomas Jefferson26 days ago

    Cherish the people around you because they make life worth living. Make the most of every day and live it to the fullest because we never know how much time we have left. I wish you good health, a bright future and a happy life. May you always be surrounded by love and support. 🙏🙏🙏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.