Petlife logo

God of mischief.

How an earthly, imperfect & sometimes stinky hound led me back to my true self.

By Marie-Claude BernierPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

What could be perceived as “just a dog” by others is, to me, a playful and loyal being, a constant and loving presence throughout a period of my life which often prompted difficult emotions. Since those words don’t convey the effect this companion of mine has, let’s try these: he’s the catalyst behind my transformative & healing journey... a road that now leads me to love, everyday.

His name is Loki and he wears it superbly: he's energetic and always jumps at an opportunity to play. In fact, Loki in Norse mythology means “god of mischief” and let me tell you: my fur ball, whom I affectionately call “ma bafoon” and “big butt”, is proof that one can be mischievous without any ill intent, rather focusing on grasping every opportunity for happiness that life gives, unapologetically.

This is how, along the way, he’s become the greatest teacher I've ever had. Sure, I taught him commands for everyday life & for hunting purposes. But the scope of what he showed me, on the other hand, is inestimable: my life has completely changed since his puppy breath days.

The initial goal of his presence in my life was quite simple: provide companionship and along the way, hopefully, I would learn to open up my heart again... to myself, to others and to life. I was recently divorced, had chosen alcoholism and wanted nothing to do with relationships. In fact, I wanted nothing to do with feeling or living life to its full potential. It felt like I had gotten hurt one too many times; I had no desire to launch myself into what would, inevitably, be another failure. Having established that, I choose emotional numbness & comfort via social seclusion. 

Loki had his own set of goals: be outside, play ball for 2-3 hours a day and enjoy life. For many years, he was the only reason I would get out of bed & get some fresh air. Little by little, it gave me space to think about my past experiences & even process some of my feelings. On more than one occasion, he helped me grasp why I needed to let go of my anger towards men like my father. Since I didn't want him to be the victim of my overflowing yet unprocessed emotions, I vowed to change my life with him by my side... no matter how long it took. Over the next few years, I learned to feel & let go of anything that no longer served me - from the deepest crevices of my being. 

Most importantly, I prepared myself for what was to come: the day where I would choose, love and trust myself enough to open up to others & live authentically. Six years later, I no longer needed alcohol or cigarettes as a coping mechanism. I had a voice, one that could help others heal so I quit a job that sparked little joy.

Throughout it all, Loki has been there for me; we've become an inseparable team. His unconditional love & his goofy ways always make me smile. His presence comforts me and allows me to connect to my heart so I can shed any sadness it holds. This is why I believe he deserves to win emPAWyee of the month. 

In my world, he's won this title every single month for the past 7 years because he makes me a better person everyday. And let's face it: the transformative & healing journey we went on together is what allows me to cope with anything that life might bring, including the time I spend at work. Thankfully, work isn't only where we earn our living but the place, in each of us, where we go to heal & work towards the purification of who we are.

Dear Loki, let this be a record of my love for you & my infinite gratitude for all that you've given me.

With love,

MACBE

dog

About the Creator

Marie-Claude Bernier

I'm a French Canadian woman learning to speak up, via the written word. I share about my life, my healing journey and my dreams. I like to question everything & strive to create a new story by raising awareness on different topics.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Marie-Claude BernierWritten by Marie-Claude Bernier

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.