Petlife logo

Glitter Gallops

Cowgirl Coco

By ReddiePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My big girl Coco

Chocolate brown with big white paws. She laid on the couch watching television with LP and her teddy. I came down the stairs and there she was, just like the adoption pictures, she’s actually here now. I ran over to give direct eye contact; this is when I learned that her eyes are a hazel yellow with five freckles total within her pupils. She had the tiniest teeth. I saw them when she sneezed.

It was December 20th of 2012, we lived in a fairly new neighborhood called CrossCreek; we quickly decided that winter months Chocolate is to remain inside, however in the hot summer months, she’ll have to spend most of her time outdoors. Welp..all seasons have met her and....she was still a house dog. She adorably snores and whimpers softly with a bark. Looking at her I’d wonder if she missed her brothers and sisters, she was from a litter of eight.

Over the last eight years, Chocolate has grown in nicely to our traveling routines. She is the baby of the family, she’s a Virgo I’m not sure of her rising but I want to guess Leo. And yes, I asked the breeder what time she was born, he told us that she’s been three months old as of two weeks ago, weened off their mothers’ milk, vaccinated and dewormed. He asked if Chocolate could come visit once in a while because he kept two out of the litter to keep with the parents of the litter. Apparently, this aids and certifies bloodline. Chocolate looks the most like her mom. I questioned the motive of the breeder until he gave us a short list of traits. I learned that Chocolate loves to run around in circles in the barn out back.

Normalcy shifted for us in this year is now 2021. No income like missed income, and this feeling of despair will not suffice. Here I am unemployed during this coronavirus covid pandemic with dreams of ownership delayed. Bright side is the inconvenience of money made room for what matters... quality time together. Yes for a while it was a temporary burden of bills stacked up. Even with them state deposits coming in, it was hard to even feed ourselves, I wished there was more pet pantries that assisted pet owners on a budget like myself.

We had to downsize…the entire family wept in despair… Hearts hurt hard …not brining Chocolate didn’t sit with me. So we took a walk. Chocolate and I take good talks too. She is a puller until I stand still. She says come on lets goooooo there’s a squirrel about to climb that treeee. On our return home we guzzle water in the backyard before coming in. She likes to step on my toes to slow me down.

Chocolate’s favorite holiday is one where she gets to dress up, she literally has been trotting around since a few months old. Happy to show her figure eight laps, out of breath she trots like a little horse. It’s imperative that I add the icing on the pound cake, Chocolate loves glittery accessories. The picture you see, is of someone who blessed my heart with a sneeze, yawn and face lick. World, I’m elated to introduce you all to my big girl; Chocolate trotting around in her glittery cowgirl hat. I snapped several pictures and that one has been the best attempt. She later ate the hat and was put on time out. We don’t destroy presents, its rude.

Today has been one of the times that we look at Chocolate and laugh about her snores, her hide and seek sneaks and her cuddle with teddy. She's really expressive and you wanna know a secret? Chocolate is no cap, my friend that adds exclamation points to our entire household. Best gift ever.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reddie

Write.It.Down! Don’t wait for inspiration it finds you when your NOT READY and luckily for me. I’m not seemingly ready, so creative divinity flows .. where it goes?… let’s all find out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.